Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Activision The Amazing Spider-Man

Harness Spider-Mans powers with Manhattan as your playground! Set shortly after the events of Columbia Pictures' new film, The Amazing Spider-Man throws New York City's brand new hero back into free-roaming, web-slinging action, as he protects the Big Apple from a deluge of unimaginable threats.
Overall rating:
4.461 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
98 out of 107(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for The Amazing Spider-Man
Review 1 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Incredibly repetitive
PostedJuly 2, 2012
First of all, since the game is an epilogue to the movie, it reveals major spoilers from the movie, such as a character that dies. They could have easily written around this. I don't know why they specifically had to mention it. The game is also incredibly repetitive...the side missions vary between stop a mugging, stop some bad guys shooting at the police, stop a car fleeing from the police, take some pictures, collect all the flares before time runs out, and keep Spider-man focused in a camera frame. The actual mission is also terribly repetitive...it requires you to go to Oscorp, go to your apartment to get the antidote, go back to Oscorp to try the antidote...the antidote doesn't work, so go back to your apartment, take a new antidote to Oscorp...this one works, so go back to your apartment...all of this with only slight deviations in your destination. The repetitiveness of the script was also annoying...I don't think I can stand hearing Spider-man tell a New Yorker to "stay frosty" one more time. The game prides itself on its impressive creation of how it feels to websling around Manhattan, and it is quite impressive. However, that's the only thing the game gets right. It would be even more fun to websling around Manhattan if Manhattan actually felt more realistic. It ends up feeling cartoon-y, and quite a few noticeable landmarks are missing. At the expense of sounding snobbish, even the eagles, one of the main features of the Chrysler building, are missing. It seems like they put a lot of time and effort into developing webslinging at the expense of everything else. Although webslinging is a little fun, the rest of the game does not redeem itself or merit a second playthrough.
33 of 113 found this review helpful.
Read comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer avatar
Posted bykandyse
keep it short buddy
onJune 19, 2013
It's funny you should mention hating spoilers then write this review. Haha.
Customer avatar
Posted bybluedude24
Alexandria,VA
not the game's fault
onJuly 31, 2012
its not the games fault its ur fault. ur the one who got the game before the movie. i always see the movie and then get the game.u spoiled urself.
Customer avatar
Posted bysemy101
onJuly 13, 2012
first of all the game reveals nothing to the movie cause the movie is about only the lizard the game has a lot of differant animals
Customer avatar
Posted bySorelles
Tampa, FL
i see
onJuly 6, 2012
well yes it will repeat itself. i agree, but it may have spoilers and it even said this in the game-informer ( if you get one). But I will still watch the movie. It won't turn away my interest.
Comments (4)
Read comments (4)
Review 2 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For someone else
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great game
PostedMay 11, 2019
Excellent game play! Entertaining and keeps me playing.
Review 3 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
The pretty good Spider-Man
PostedMay 1, 2019
The game has an interesting storyline and has cool costumes to find. The stealth takedown application is my favorite part of the game. The only thing I’d have to say that was rather disappointing was the free roam web slinging. It’s not the best that I’ve seen.
Review 4 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For someone else
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Controls
PostedMarch 31, 2019
The controls are bit wonky but you get the hang of it after playing it a couple of times
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:3 months
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Awesome
PostedFebruary 10, 2019
The voices are spot on and I like how you get to choose what to say
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew york
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:Under 13
Gender:Male
So fun
PostedOctober 4, 2018
i LOVE this game its WAY better than the second one
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLongBeach,CA
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:13-18
Gender:Male
Great gameplay!
PostedAugust 6, 2018
The graphics for this game are great! The gameplay for it is non-stop action! Who doesn't wanna fight criminals as Spiderman!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
If you like the movie-
PostedOctober 4, 2016
you'll like this game. The story continues off 8 months from the movie, so it's not like other movie based games, which I'm fine with. And the story itself is pretty sweet stuff too. The gameplay is amazing, pardon the pun, and although the web-swinging isn't AS realistic as Spider Man 2, it's still pretty accurate. Well, as accurate you can get with a geek kid getting bitten by a scientifically modified spider and dressing in spandex because of it. Overall, a good Spider-man game, if a bit too easy at times. And something I should stress, this is a Spider-man game for SPIDER-MAN FANS. If you don't like the movie, you probably won't like this game for the story alone. But if you do like it, then this will probably be a good game for you. Only complaint is that I didn't get the official box with this. Could happen to you too, so I thought I would mention that bit.
59 of 59 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFlorida, FL
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Amazing
PostedMay 26, 2014
This was a great open world Spider Man game with an interesting story and great gameplay. I really enjoyed the open world experience provided in this game with a nice looking city and tons of collectibles that kept me busy. I really love the addition of costumes to wear but I do think the game is lacking in that department. The one and only problem I had with this game was obviously the web swinging, for some reason you webs stick to clouds and Spidey's animations for web swinging look VERY stiff.
 
Products related to my review
 
Spider-Man 2
4.7 out of 5(52)
 
 
 
Ultimate Spider-Man
4.8 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSan Diego,Ca
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Really Good!!!!!!
PostedOctober 28, 2013
This game is great! I have no complaints for it! It was like the batman Arkham City for marvel. Obviously, it wasn't as good as Arkham City, but its really great. It's kind of expensive though but it's really great!!!!!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJakratxhetarethebeat98
onJanuary 2, 2019
Batman is d.c.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromplano tx
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
really hard but awesome!!!!
PostedAugust 1, 2013
this game is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it has perfect graphics the best gameplay but its super hard this game is for hardcore gamers
 
Products related to my review
 
iPod touch(R) Gen 1 8GB
3.3 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromChicago, Illinois
Best. Game. Ever.
PostedJune 12, 2013
I have to say, this was the best game ever to play (also the same as 2, web of shadows, and shattered dimensions). Free roam was back, story line was amazing, gamplay was awsome, the costumes looked sweet, and the DLC`s were fantastic. I definitaly reccomend this to spidey fans who would like this to their collection.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This was Kinda a disappointment.
PostedMay 28, 2013
It was a good game, but for the price I bought it no way. 60 dollars blown on a game that lacked any challenge in swinging and short story mode. I give this game a 8 because I got every thing done in less than 2 days. And it's not as good as spider man 2
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Almost There !!!
PostedMay 27, 2013
Now if you've played either of the new Batman games you'll see alot of similarities this game. This game does OK with combat but was a little clunky and was missing something. the Graphics are good and look great while swinging through the city and while the cutscenes look good the mouths were way off with the voice acting. It was a good game but not great.
 
Products related to my review
 
Review 15 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew Jersey
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
AWESOME
PostedMay 15, 2013
Amazing game trailers and moive are also great the game is better than expected ! this was the best game I have in a while and very long and lengthy to beat (Which is good) !
 
Products related to my review
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromAdrian
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Great game , couple'a flaws
PostedApril 7, 2013
This game gets alot right. Good graphics, lets you turn of the reticle in options and turn off map with one of the D-buttons. Not big fan of suit and not being able to make webs like spider. Web rush was almost constantly needed to do anything acrobatic which got stale. Sucks how when swinging he automatically lets go of the web not unlike shattered dimensions which was understandable with closed in levels only. Like camera but was hard to see surroundings when swinging. After 100% I have only seen 1 thing to do, a single lonely car jacking. Combats a little basic , counter, punch, web shoot, web rush. Favorite one still web of shadows an # 2 on ps2
Review 17 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromCT
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
This IS the amazing spiderman!
PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Not only the graphics and gameplay are awsome but the storyline is amazing! I couldnt stay still throughout the whole game! This game is worth more than $50! But, it starts getting boring when u beat the whole game and unlock all the stuff.
Review 18 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGeorgia
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Fantastic Game!
PostedJanuary 6, 2013
User submitted photo
I personally love this game, and have been hooked on it ever since I got it for Christmas! It is a fun and challenging game that contains great graphics and fun free roam. The story of this game takes place right after the movie "The Amazing Spiderman", and will probably start the next movie. Also, the characters voices are done very well. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to feel like Spiderman swinging around Manhattan.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
Gran Turismo 5: XL Edition
3.9 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York,NY
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Doesn't Live Up To It's Name
PostedDecember 30, 2012
This game is not amazing.This game is ULTIMATE.I got it for Christmas expecting that it would not be as good as spider-man 3 on the P.S.P. It's better.The fighting game-play is awesome.The graphics are great for the main characters. People in the streets graphics' aren't that great. But some of those people will look like people you know.Overall this game is ULTIMATE!!!!!! I love it. Go pick it up for your PlayStation 3. Don't get it on Xbox 360 because you don't get the first spidey suit. Also get the D.L.C(Downloadable content).
 
Products related to my review
 
Ultimate Spider-Man
4.8 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Amazing Spider-Man
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromFlorrisant, MO
Simply put...AMAZING!
PostedDecember 29, 2012
I had tons of fun playing this game and the experience got better when i unlocked nearly all the costumes. It gets even better when you get the Stan Lee Adventure Pack. Excelsior!
 
Products related to my review
Ultimate Spider-Man
4.8 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
Spider-Man 2
4.7 out of 5(52)