Product Reviews

Sega of America Sonic Generations

The ultimate celebration of 20 Years of Sonic gaming, Sonic Generations delivers the definitive gaming experience for Sonic fans new and old. Sonic's universe is thrown into chaos when a mysterious new power comes into force, creating time holes' which take Sonic and his friends back in time. Whilst there, Sonic runs into some very familiar characters from his past including a younger version of himself! Now they must team up to defeat their enemies, save their friends, and find out who is behind this diabolical deed.
Overall rating:
3.971 / 5
4
 / 
5
57 out of 77(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sonic Generations
Review 1 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromBlandon, PA
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Great game, a little short.
PostedFebruary 14, 2012
I got Sonic Generations for the 3DS for Xmas. I played the first level, and I honestly didn't like it. I was bored of playing Mario Kart for hours so I decided to play this a little more and I fell in love. The levels were fun and difficult, with many enemies to defeat. The bosses were all very creative and challenging at first, but once you learn their secrets, it gets a little easier. The sound was amazing, along with the graphics. I had one problem. The game was shorter than expected. It consisted of around 10 or so levels. They were all very fun, but I wish there was more. If you play for 2-3 days for a couple hours, you could beat it. I 100% recommend this game!
23 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Length of ownership:3 months
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good, Not Great
PostedJune 20, 2019
It has really great sound and the graphics are pretty top notch for a 3DS title, but the controls are clunky and inaccurate. You're better of playing the PS3/360 version for a truly enjoyable game. But if you're interested in comparing the level differences between the 3DS version and PS3/360 version you're better off saving your money and watching a YouTube play through.
Review 3 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Sonic generations 3ds
PostedJune 9, 2019
It was fun, I did enjoy it, but I wish it had more levels because it was to short. The bosses are fun though, and it’s not just the same as the ps3 or Xbox, so I give it three stars because it’s just to short.
Review 4 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Sonic Generations
PostedFebruary 25, 2019
It doesn't work at all in my Nintendo device. I already left U.S. unfortunately. I guess I will never visit GameStop later on this time.
Review 5 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMinnesota
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great stuff!
PostedNovember 10, 2018
This game is really fun, but kinda easier than most of all of my other games.(I am a little stuck at one point right now, but I'll get out of there.)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMinneapolis Minnesota
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For someone else
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Awesome game
PostedNovember 3, 2018
My son loves this game so he asked me to buy it he was not disappointed!!!:)
Review 7 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
An OK Version
PostedOctober 2, 2018
Its great for players who have a 3DS and has no Xbox/Playstation. I think the console version is better.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This game is perfect for:kid gamers
3ds version not as good.
PostedFebruary 1, 2018
Unless there is a setting or something I missed, the 3rd person sonic mode doesnt exist for 3ds. Which makes me feel like Im playing 2 different sonics in 2d, but with 3d features. It was kinda a bummer. I wanted more than just a 2d platformer, I was hoping for both styles of play in story mode. Its a difficult game as always will pitfalls, and its not without its faults. Sometimes you can stop on a dime, and other things, but its a fun game, and for sonic on the go, it aint bad, just not what i expected.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromBogotá, Colombia
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Great game!
PostedJune 10, 2017
This is a great game.With a amazing gameplay. Classic Sonic and Modern Sonic. The songs are amazing. All the bosses. And in the 3ds is portable. A Like
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromFL
Not Very Impressed
PostedOctober 11, 2015
I love Sonic and his older games, but I was not a fan of this one. Each level was filled with things that were incredibly easy or almost impossibly hard; there was no in between. It's incredibly fast-paced like all the other Sonic games but for some reason this one just wasn't that good to me. It definitely has the potential to be an enjoyable game, but as short as this is, I would wait until the price drops if you still want to try it.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHavertown, PA
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Awesome game!
PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Definitely one of my favorite sonic games! The game play and 3D effects are epic, I really loved the final boss where you fight as Super Sonic, the way it controls is probably the best out of any other super sonic stages I've played.
 
Products related to my review
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gameplay 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graphics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromFairhaven
This game is perfect for:kid gamers
Sega, You know better
PostedFebruary 21, 2014
I really love Sonic games for any gaming system but let's talk about this game. This game is not really good but I've seen worse. The levels are hard and complicated. You can only play as Sonic. The multiplayer is not really fun for starters. I really don't like this game so I recommend this to kid gamers who don't have any idea what they're doing.
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromQueens, NY
This game is perfect for:kid gamers
This game is okay. But is very short.
PostedDecember 28, 2013
When I first saw this game, it looked amazing as I was a huge fan of the Sonic handheld games. It was my first 3DS game and when I first got it. I was pretty disappointed that it wasn't the game I imagined. My first complaint is that it's very short and doesn't have attention to detail that it's console brothers have. My second complaint is that it doesn't have many of the added features such as super sonic being playable, very much so because you have to get the chaos emeralds. Another complaint I have is that modern sonic and classic sonic feel the same. This is because classic sonic get's the homing attack and after that they just feel the same with little added features, such as the boost for modern sonic and the spindash for classic sonic. Another major complaint is that the levels aren't based around their Era, the eras are from the consoles and a very few are handheld. Here's how I will handle it myself. They should add the game gear era with levels from Sonic 1 game gear 2, and triple trouble. The advanced era, with levels from all the games and finally the DS era with levels from Rush, Rush adventure and Colors. Overall, it has no replay value and has no lasting appeal. I recommend this for kid gamers and people who only want this for a collection.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromtucson
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Boss game a must buy!
PostedNovember 16, 2013
I totally loved this game great story and levels. Though the story is kinda short its a great buy overall. Plus the price dropped and it now has DLC.
 
Products related to my review
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromCypress, TX
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Not Bad
PostedMay 31, 2013
I just had one of those childhood crazes and I decided to buy the game for my 3DS since there was a version for that console. I really enjoyed revisiting Green Hill Zone and Emerald Coast which was my childhood. There isn't as much as the X-Box 360 and PS3 version and unlike those versions the levels are in that 2D-3D format. The graphics were a bit pixilated but a lot of 3DS games are anyways but the graphics are still good mainly on Modern Sonic's levels. The levels are a bit challenging and it will take a while to perfect a S rank even on the first level. There isn't that much extra content as the other versions but it's the only Nintendo version of the game there is. If your just looking for a Sonic the Hedgehog game for the 3DS I'd just wait for Sonic: Lost World coming this Holiday, check it out! Rather than that I give the game a 8, just not bad.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromLancaster, PA
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
I'm Disappointed Sega.
PostedMarch 7, 2013
Sonic Generations for the PS3, XBOX 360, and PC were fantastic game to celebrate the wonderful years Sonic's had. So when I heard There was a 3DS I got excited a bought a copy. I was disappointed. Now don't get me wrong it's not a bad game. But it shouldn't be considered a great game It has so many flaws and so little great thing about it. So I'll tell you what I like and what I don't like. Don't worry this is my opinion, if you don't like you thumbs it down. The Story- The story in this game is the same as PS3, XBOX 360, and PC versions. So if you play those you'll know but if you didn't I'll tell you. As Sonic is enjoying his birthday, a mysterious being know as "Time Eater" suddenly appears and Sucking everyone in "Time Holes" though different points in history. After sonic wakes up he finds himself lost in dimension know as "White Space" A place where time and space goes when it's erased by being drained of color and life. After completing Green Hill Zone you rescue Miles "Tails" Prower and since he's smart apparently he starts explaining what happens. And that is what the game is around just that. It isn't a bad story, I would have excepted them to have a better story because it is Sonic's birthday. But I can't really find anything else wrong with the story other then being half made. The Level/Controls- The 3DS levels for classic are what you except, but there great staying to the roots. But the Modern...Sega thought that everyone that was going to play Sonic Generations 3DS wouldn't care if both Modern and Classic Play almost the same. Look Classic Sonic levels are fun because they represent how Classic Play but when I got to play Moderns I was devastated. They took the controls from Sonic Rush which was a horrible choice and used that. Either they were letting monkeys pick out the way Modern Sonic would control by throwing darts or there just stupid. Honestly this was a poor choice and this is what ruined the game for me. Classic Sonic and Modern Sonic are supposed to be different, just because Modern has Boost and Sliding doesn't mean it's "Completely Different". Your probably like "Classic does not get homing attack Modern Sonic should have homing attack" oh no he gets homing. Now your probably like "Well that's cool don't hate" No, Like I said before THERE SUPPOSED TO BE DIFFERENT FROM EACH OTHER. Other then that the controls are great. But the level design is super boring compared to the 360/PS3/PC Versions. The Bosses- They were lazy bosses. Positive- What I really enjoyed was the multiplayer that was so good yeah the levels are lazy but I got to play with a second person from across the world. I also like how the made the missions optional, I hated the missions in Sonic Generations for the PS3/360/PC the missions were just padding done horribly. I hated every single minuet of the Missions. So this was my review for Sonic Generations 3DS. I love Sonic I love Sega. But this was just horrible. You can't love something if you don't hate anything about it. I heard that some where. From a wise man. The internet.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromFairfax VA
This game is perfect for:kid gamers
sonic rush in 3D.
PostedJanuary 29, 2013
the 3ds version of this game is the same as sonic rush. that's it. the only diffrence is that it's in 3D. but it is just side scroling left and right controles. the console version had forward veiw running and is defenitly better. and the characters don't even speak, you just have to read what they say in a speech bubble, like comics. the console version had full animated cutscenes. classic sonic's gameplay is almost the same as the classic gamplay in the console version, but modern sonic's gameplay is nothing like the console version, it is baisicly classic sonic's gameplay exept with a boost feature. and the 3ds could perfectly handle something like the console version, take super mario 3d land for example, it has forward veiw and the 3ds handles it perfectly. the 3ds version is also shorter by 2 stages, and they were suposed to be the best stages from the best sonic games, the following is a list of stages from the console version, green hill, chemical plant, sky sanchuary, metal sonic boss battle, death egg robot boss battle, speed highway,city escape, seaside hill, shadow boss battle,pefect chaos boss battle,crisis city,rooftoop run,planet wisp,silver boss battle,egg dragoon boss battle, and time eater boss battle. and the 3ds version had green hill,casino night,musroom hill, metal sonic rival battle, big arm boss battle, emerald coast, radical highway,shadow rival battle,biolizard boss battle,water palace,tropical resort,silver rival battle, egg emporer boss battle, final boss battle, time eater. the 3ds version's modern era was wasted with stages from handheld sonic titles like sonic rush with water palace and sonic colors DS with tropical resort (it is the DS sonic colors because it has the red burst wisp that the wii version did not have) i am posting a video of how much the 3ds version is like sonic rush, check it out before buying this 3D remake of sonic rush.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byrockstar321
Fairfax VA
also the 3ds version only has HALF SONGS.
onFebruary 9, 2013
I just found out that if you unlock a song in the 3ds version it is cut short to 1 minute. the console version has full songs. this is realy unfair, this is another reason to STAY AWAY FROM THE 3DS VERSION.
Customer avatar
Posted byrockstar321
Fairfax VA
sorry i could not post the video.
onJanuary 31, 2013
because it had links to other videos so i could not post it. it was just a gameplay video of modern sonic in sonic generations 3ds.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 18 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromfairfax VA
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
this is okay but the ps3, 360 version is better
PostedNovember 30, 2012
I got the 3ds version before I got the console version. it was basicly the exact same as sonic rush but in 3D. the only good part of this game is the 3D. other than that get the ps3 or 360 version. the 3ds can handale a 3D platformer but the characters only move side to side, in the console version they can move forward, bacwards, and side to side. and the cutscenes are like comics. just speech bubbles with no animation the console version has cutscenes with animation. along with that the console version is longer, it has green hill, chemical plant, sky sactuary, metal sonic rival battle, death egg robot boss battle, speed highway, city escape, seaside hill, shadow rival battle, perfect chaos boss battle, crisis city, rooftop run, planet wisp, silver rival battle, egg dragon boss battle, and the final boss battle, time eater. the 3ds only has, green hill, casino night, musroom hill, metal sonic rival battle, big arm boss battle, emerald coast, radical highway, shadow rival battle, biolizard boss battle, water palace, tropical resort, silver rival battle, egg emporer boss battle, and final boss battle, time eater. the 3ds version is shorter by 1 stage. and sonic is in places and fights bosses that he never did in the original games. shadow should be in radical highway not sonic. shadow should fight the biolizard not sonic. and even worse after the biolizard boss battle tails said that he never expected to see biolizard again. but he never did until now. and sonic says " I've fought him before that was easy" this is not true. this game is so rushed that SEGA did not even check all of these mistakes. the special stages only prove that the game can handele sonic running in forward view 3D. the game was just rushed.
Review 19 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromFL,jacksonville
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
great,perfect,great for fans of sonic.
PostedOctober 14, 2012
User submitted photo
Well a great game for sonic fans from the 1991-2011. In a way its not perfect,but the 3D is great (:
 
Products related to my review
 
Review 20 for Sonic Generations
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromandalusia AL
This game is perfect for:kid gamers
great for a handheld
PostedJuly 25, 2012
I look at the xbox 360 version and say " this is the greatest sonic game ever. " My I got this for christmas for the 3ds. little did I know it would be a great disappointment. the game could have been better . It is too easy. I beat it in a week. If you don't have an xbox 360 or a ps3 then get it for the 3ds, but if you have an xbox 360 or a ps3 get it for them instead of the 3ds.
 
Products related to my review
Shadow the Hedgehog
3.7 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byrockstar321
Fairfax VA
what do you mean.
onMarch 29, 2013
this is one of the worst 3ds games ever. it does not take advantage of the 3ds's capabilities like super mario 3d land. and sega even proved the 3ds could take forward veiw modern sonic gamplay when they released sonic all stars racing transformed for the 3DS.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)