Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Microsoft Gears of War 3

Gears of War 3 is the spectacular conclusion to one of the most memorable and celebrated sagas in video games. Developed by Epic Games exclusively for Xbox 360®, Gears of War 3 plunges you into a harrowing tale of hope, survival, and brotherhood.In Gears of War 3, fight on as Marcus Fenix, the grizzled war hero and leader of Delta Squad. Eighteen months after the fall of the last human city, the war against the Locust rages on. Meanwhile, deep beneath the surface, a fearsome new threat is infecting the planet from within. With survivors scattered and civilization in ruins, time is running out for Marcus and his comrades as they fight to save the human race.The Gears of War series is one of the most popular franchises in Xbox history, with more than 12 million games sold worldwide, a forthcoming major motion picture, New York Times best-selling novels, and more.
Overall rating:
4.51 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
503 out of 553(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Gears of War 3
Review 1 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Gears of war 3 delivered big in horde.
PostedAugust 18, 2012
I've always thought that the first gears of war was just "alright" nothing too special about it. But then gears of war 2 exceeded my expectations through the roof and I fell in love with the franchise, so needless to say I was excited for gears of war 3. First things first, the graphics for this game were unbelievable, the detail in every little thing looked amazing. The all new horde mode was my favorite thing about this game. It was addicting when it came to leveling up whoever your character may be. I loved how you could level up the fortifications, turrets, and so on. That was very well done. The only complaint I have with the game was the campaign. Yes I understand that everything is so scarce and limited. But do we really have to do an entire act on just getting fuel? I felt as if the gears were just running errands for the majority of it. I felt as if the franchise lost its imagination. Part of it may be my fault as well. I was hoping for another large leap (from gears 1 to gears 2). I missed the brilliant imagination when you were inside a gargantuan worm destroying cities, or riding a brumak, or discovering and exploring the locusts stronghold underneath the surface. And in that department I felt gears of war 3 did not deliver. But all of the multiplayer modes were addicting. Horde was incredible, beast was fun as well, and along with the playlists in versus. The story line started off a little weak but got stronger throughout the campaign. In the end gears of war 3 is an incredible game and excellent for gamers who like to play multiplayer with one another.
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Cool game
PostedJune 8, 2019
User submitted photo
Its not to bad
Review 3 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Campaign
PostedJune 5, 2019
The story is very welcoming for new and old players of the franchise. It was something I won’t forget.
Review 4 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
This game has poor resale value
PostedJune 3, 2019
I only play the game for the improvement in weapons
The retooled versus mode can be a pain
My squad mates don't help me every time I play the game that doesn't change idkw
Review 5 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Better than chuck E Cheese
PostedMay 31, 2019
Great game ..... even if your a first timer this game is a great pickup. All time classic
Review 6 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For someone else
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Pierce
PostedMarch 28, 2019
Love the game lot of fun I bought another one to GameStop used Xbox one when I got home it did not work
Review 7 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For someone else
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great
PostedMarch 27, 2019
Awesome storyline actually bought it for my son and my wife ended up playing with him all three games still looking for the second one they love it now i have to find a way to get them off so i can play!!!!
Review 8 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromBay Area, CA
Length of ownership:3 months
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For someone else
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Story was...meh
PostedJanuary 14, 2019
Bought this game to do a father/ son adventure. Played 1 through 3 back when they were new. Did not really remember 3 that much, and now I remember why. The first two had my son playing with saucer eyes, even though the game was old. The third, this one, had him yawning and looking to do something else. Disappointed.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromTroy, NC
Length of ownership:6 months
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Its a Gears of war game
PostedDecember 18, 2018
Its a Gears of War game, thats all you need to know. This is my personal favorite xbox exclusive series. Forget Halo, Gears is the king of Xbox exclusives.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHuntsville
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
It's a great game to play and is amusing
PostedSeptember 18, 2018
I've always been a fan of the Gears of War series and just wanted to reclaim some old happiness
Review 11 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromRacine WI
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Awesome story line
PostedAugust 25, 2018
I bought the game a week ago and I am glad that I did
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSt. Louis Mo
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Better than the first 2 Gears of War games.
PostedAugust 21, 2018
I enjoyed the 2 woman characters in addition to the men. I finished playing the game in 6 days on casual playing 1-2 hours per day.
Review 13 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
PostedAugust 9, 2018
My favorite part of this game is the ability to turn off the bad language, there are not many games that I can play like this with my son, thank you.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromAurora, Colorado
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Good game
PostedJuly 26, 2018
My son and I really enjoy all of the Gears of war video games. Looking forward to the 5th edition.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHomestead, FL
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Love gears 3!
PostedJuly 20, 2018
Love the campaign.... But multiplayer is still the same as the previous gears of war games but better graphics!
Review 16 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromRiverview fl
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For someone else
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Awesome game
PostedJune 9, 2018
I already love gears of war, with the better graphics then before, I was sold, great value
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromphilpot,ky
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
AWESOME GAME!!
PostedJune 1, 2018
Picked up recently and absolutely love it, great!!!!!
Review 18 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromspring hill,
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
another great sequel to the series.
PostedAugust 14, 2017
GOW 3 is the second sequel to one of the best series in the gaming universe. overall great addition to the series!!!!!.
25 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromcatonsville md
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
best gears til date
PostedDecember 15, 2016
gears of war 3 is the best gears out of the first two gears release on xbox360 the graphics for this game really push Xbox360 to limits the only thing i hate about this game is that dom dies everything else i like btw it plays better on the Xbox one
 
Products related to my review
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gears of War 3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMartinsburg,WV
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
best game
PostedJuly 17, 2016
one of my favorite games of all time if you new to gaming i would recommend this to you but you should play the other ones first
 
Products related to my review
 
 
3 of 3 found this review helpful.