Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Valve Portal 2

Portal 2 draws from the award-winning formula of innovative gameplay, story, and music that earned the original Portal over 70 industry accolades and created a cult following. The single-player portion of Portal 2 introduces a cast of dynamic new characters, a host of fresh puzzle elements, and a much larger set of devious test chambers. Players will explore never-before-seen areas of the Aperture Science Labs and be reunited with GLaDOS, the occasionally murderous computer companion who guided them through the original game. The game's two-player cooperative mode features its own entirely separate campaign with a unique story, test chambers, and two new player characters. This new mode forces players to reconsider everything they thought they knew about portals. Success will require them to not just act cooperatively, but to think cooperatively.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
48 out of 51(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Portal 2
Review 1 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best games I've ever played!
PostedJuly 19, 2014
Portal 2 is my favorite game. Everything about it is amazing. This is a must have game! It is still a great game to this day!
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A masterpiece
PostedJuly 9, 2014
Portal 2 is an amazing game, period. The innovative puzzles introduced in the first game have returned with even more elements (like lasers, gels, and "Aerial Faith Plates"), exponentially increasing the mind-boggling fun. The puzzles truly get your brain working, and finding the solution is always a pleasure. And as if the clever gameplay wasn't enough, the game picks up where Portal left off with a movie-worthy story and a cast of brilliant characters. Almost all of these characters harbor interesting and flawed personalities, and each and every one of them is hilarious in one way or another. Seriously, Portal 2 is as much a game about humour as it is a game about puzzles. The game's graphics and music are decent, and its lasting appeal is strengthened greatly by a co-op multiplayer mode (which I admittedly have very little experience with), and the option to create your own test chambers and share them with others. That last feature is immensely entertaining, if only to experience the brilliant creations others have made. I honestly cannot think of a major flaw in Portal 2. Perhaps the dark humor that it presents can be a bit off-putting, but if you're able to stomach that then I recommend this game wholeheartedly. It's worth its price.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBland, VA
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Science class to the max
PostedJune 2, 2014
Portal 2 is a gem unlike any other. Continuing from the story plot, you wake up in another cryo chamber then meet a humorous artificial intelligence core named Wheatley who plans on making you escape. Now, single player is not a thing that all people enjoy in video games, they prefer to compete with or play with a friend/enemy. Portal 2 lets you compare ranks within test chambers you complete in single player by time and amount of portals you use. Even though you can compete you could also cooperate with players. In co-op mode, you and a friend play as Atlas and P-body, two robots powered by AI cores that don't know anything, You work with GLADOS (the villain from the previous game) to help unlock the cryo tubes to save the other test subjects. You could even high five players for a good job. To conclude, Portal is as funny as Seth Macfarlane, Epic as Chuck Norris, and mart as Steven Hawkings (and I'm not exaggerating).
Note: there is more to the game, but that just spoils the fun :)
Review 4 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Majestic
PostedNovember 28, 2013
This game is a very fun game with a unique concept and storyline. You use portals to solve puzzles that are challenging but to a certain point. Valve has acomplished a rare combination of being challenging but not to a point where you get frustrated and quit. Once you get through a fun and humorous campaign mode there is a fun multiplayer mode the must use team work. With 4portals at use, if one player decides to anti social jerk and stands in the corner, you not going to get any thing done. Conclusion, this game is a solid 10/10
 
Products related to my review
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromNew York , NY
This game is perfect for:kid gamers
Hate it.
PostedNovember 5, 2013
I think this game needs a one for it dose not let chile talk and it is not very hard i beat it in 4 hours
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bygamerman69420
Flavortown
onMay 25, 2019
That moment when you get mad for a silent person not talking
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromRiverside CA
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
This game ROCKS!!
PostedJune 23, 2013
What can I say...THIS GAME ROCKS!!! its fun to play but more fun to play with 2 players. The CO OP is amazing and fun, some of the chambers are hard and take some time. two things you need are a good computer and good internet! I've seen this game played by the Game Grumps as well as other people. the only flaw in the game is some of the chambers are unsolvable untill you find a walkthrough. the coolest part is getting to make your own chambers so you can have others play them, its 2013 and this game will still be great!
 
Products related to my review
NASCAR 06: Total Team Control
4.5 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
Indycar Series
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Star Wars Battlefront II
4.7 out of 5(231)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNJ
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
BEST GAME EVER!!
PostedJune 22, 2013
I bought this game for my pc with a lack of any gaming consol (please excuse spelling, too lazy to fix) . The game is amazing on a pc! It can get very laggy when glacOS is waking up, but other than that, the game fits perfectly. I changed the controls to that of minecraft (w- forward, s- backwards, a- left, d- right, etc.). Moving around is smooth and the sound is not choppy. Though the game is a lot less quality when my computer is unplugged. It is very laggy and the sound is choppy and unconsistant. But if your computer is working fine, this game is great and I highly recommend it! (I love portal)
Review 8 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromvirginia, cp
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
worth the $20
PostedApril 21, 2013
when i got this game for pc i wasnt sure if i was gonna like it cause most games i play for the computer are laggy but when i played it i was amazed cause i had no prolems with it it was a crystle clear picture the voices were incredible the puzzles are amazing and the graphics are awsome so i reccomend this game to anyone who loves hard puzzle games p.s. do not play this game unless you have beat the first game
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromatlanta,GA
Absolutely amazing!
PostedFebruary 8, 2013
portal 2 is one of the best games i have ever played. the gameplay absolutely superb. the graphics still impress me every time i play it. the soundtrack and sound effects are incredible. i think i have played this game and beaten it about 7 times now. i absolutely adore this game.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLeesburg, VA
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Seems LeGiT
PostedNovember 12, 2012
It was a great game, STILL IS, in fact, both the first and the second! Heartbreaking too..great experience!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromGa
Now your thinking with portals
PostedMay 30, 2012
This is a lot better than the first game. Many more game play hours and a lot more fun in this sequel. This is were you think with portals.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromVirginia Beach, Virginia
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
This game is awesome!!!!
PostedMay 28, 2012
This games is one of the best games i've ever played. I highly recomend that everyone should play this game.
Review 13 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromPuerto Rico
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Someone thoughtfully used their brains.
PostedMay 24, 2012
User submitted photo
It's an outstanding feat when look at it. Portal 2 at heart is a puzzle game that transcends farther than what it should be. The puzzles are fanatically thought up by the guys at Valve. Each one will have you scratching your head, wondering how to solve them and when you do; a feeling of gratification suddenly appears. But that's the magic of the developers flawless level design. Portal 2 has some pretty nice looking visuals, nothing mind-blowing of course. It's running on valves 7 year old source engine, but surprising it still manages to look superb. Some nice physic effects and moody art-direction makes the game recieve the nice graphical treatment. Audio wise, the game is top notch. Thanks to gaming's greatest written screenplay, the dialogue in the game makes each of the actors voice overs come to life in a big way. Wheatly, glados and others add to unforgettable gaming cast. When your done with the 6-8 hour singleplayer mode, you'll be able to play alongside a friend and solve puzzles together. This is a separate mode. Once again, it remains as well written, funny and entertaining as the single player mode. You'll chunk through everything the game has to offer in about 12 hours, but those who continue dive into it's world might find it impossible to leave even after 30. Overall: Portal 2 is the definition of gaming perfection. Well written-funny dialogue, Incredible cast of characters, amazing level design.. we can keep going on. Portal 2 just does a lot of modern games don't do and it doesn't even need explosions to do so. Give you a thoughtfully, unique and perfectly structured video game.
 
Products related to my review
 
World of Goo
 
 
 
Braid
3 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Let me just say...
PostedFebruary 29, 2012
I do not count Valve as a game development company but more of an art company! Portal and Portal 2 are just... amazing! Words can't describe the feeling you get when you play this games! Just amazing, really, amazing! It's challenging at first but once you get used to it, it's addicting! The gameplay will make want to play it for long periods of time, the graphics are great, and it will make you laugh at points. Great games!
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
9 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNY
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Buy It Now
PostedJanuary 30, 2012
This game is one of the best games I've gotten in about 2 years. it is a very challenging game so it lasts for at least 6 weeks. You will have fun even when Glados is laughing at you and calling you fat.
12 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazing
PostedDecember 13, 2011
now i havnt played it on pc but i beat both modes on xbox...im adicted to it. the sounds problem is just one part (as far as i know) where if you did what i did you are still in a funnel thingy and GLaDOS talks about the next part early and it is funny its got all the original stuff from turrents and cubes to the new mobilty gels new characters and MuLtIpLaYeR.and its comidy still intertains me im getting pc versoin soon and i hear thears cheats on pc O.0
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromPleasanton, CA
A challenging puzzle game.
PostedDecember 4, 2011
As we all know, the original Portal made in 2007 was a first-person puzzle game designed to test one's ability to solve problems and progress to the next chamber. It originally featured Chell, and GLaDOS( short for "Genetic Lifeform and Disk Operating System"). There were also references to other characters like Dougal Rattman.
Here, we have the sequel, coming roughly four years later in 2011. The series keeps its roots; it is a puzzle game. You get a handheld portal device, in which you can create 2 portals to walk through, or have objects pass through, and utilize the two portals in a way in which you will be able to complete the test chamber. Well, that is in the beginning, at least. If you're somewhat slow, like I am, you can spend about thirty minutes thinking of ways to complete the various puzzles, starting from very simplistic to very complex and vexing. The controls are very similar to those of first person shooter games.
With this sequel, new characters are introduced. When the game starts, you meet Wheatley, who follows you through the beginning levels. Cave Johnson...or rather, his pre-recorded messages, guiding you through Aperture before GLaDOS was activated, and Caroline, who was GLaDOS before her brain was inserted into a computer. As you go progress, you'll see how characters develop, and how Aperture goes into the state it is now.
I would go on, but I think you should experience the rest yourself.
If you like first-person view games, and if you happen to like puzzles, this may be the game for you.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPA
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Perfect
PostedNovember 17, 2011
Valve have outdone themselves once again. Portal 1 was great. Portal: Still Alive was better. But Portal 2 was the best. Amazing graphics, sound, and story. Just perfect.
Review 19 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFlorida, FL
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Amazing
PostedOctober 27, 2011
Compared to Portal 1 This game has, better graphics, better game play, cut scenes, more than just ordinary tests, and perfect for the PC. I recommend this for anyone who loves a challenge and strategy, this game is much more longer with incredibly intensive chambers. You will definitely LOVE this game.
 
Products related to my review
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bylogan19
Awesome
onAugust 19, 2012
If you are a geek and like science buy this game. I've beaten it 5 times.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Portal 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect sequel
PostedOctober 1, 2011
If you were disappointed in the first game, look no further, Portal 2 fixes almost all of the problems of the first game. A richer story, alot more levels, co-op, and some great new puzzles.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.