Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Rockstar Games L.A. Noire

Amid the post-war boom of Hollywood's Golden Age, Cole Phelps, an LAPD detective is thrown headfirst into a city drowning in its own success. Corruption is rampant, the drug trade is exploding, and murder rates are at an all-time high. In his fight to climb the ranks and do what's right, Phelps must unravel the truth behind a string of arson attacks, racketeering conspiracies and brutal murders, battling the L.A. underworld and even members of his own department to uncover a secret that could shake the city to its rotten core. Using groundbreaking new animation technology that captures every nuance of an actor's facial performance in astonishing detail, L.A. Noire is a violent crime thriller that blends breathtaking action with true detective work to deliver an unprecedented interactive experience. Search for clues, chase down suspects and interrogate witnesses as you struggle to find the truth in a city where everyone has something to hide.
Overall rating:
4.168 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
274 out of 339(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for L.A. Noire
Review 1 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromCanada
Detective Work at it's best
PostedApril 2, 2012
LA noire is a unique game, as it blends detective work and gunfights and chase scenes into one. As Cole Phelps, you must slowly solve many different crime scenes using realistic detective actions and puzzles. When you start of a case, you drive to the crime scene with your partner, (who helps you along the way solving the mysteries and integrating suspects.) You take a look around, finding all the evidence before moving to the next location, which could be a suspect's house or apartment. Once you get there, you look around for any evidence that could be hiding in their house, then after that, you must ask the suspect some questions. This is one of the good parts, as you will have to identify if the suspect is lying, telling the truth or if you should doubt them. You have to really pay attention to their expressions, (this is where I usually get fooled.) Or none of this could happen and you will have to chase the suspect (chase scenes are the best in this) either in vehicles or by foot, also chases can lead into a fist fight. On top of the impressive story line, there is side missions. They can either be gunfights, chases.etc An interesting fact for this game is that the face expressions and movements for integrations were filmed on camera from actual people and put in the game, and every detail from an eye twitch to a smirk can be seen, giving it a cinematic kind of feeling.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Learning game
PostedFebruary 25, 2019
Good to pass time and good for learning to control your character
Review 3 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
L. A. Noire
PostedJanuary 23, 2019
Fun interactive game searching for clues to solve the crime . Suspects & witnesses are very real like in conversations & facial expressions.
Review 4 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
This was my first mature game and never regret it
PostedJanuary 4, 2019
Guys this game has amazing graphic so fun and is like your a cop in the 40's this game may not be like gta but rockstar did something diffrent. Make more games like this
Review 5 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSouth Oden, UT
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Great Game
PostedJuly 21, 2018
I bought this July 4th and am happy with the purchase.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Best police game out there
PostedNovember 5, 2017
I have looked far and wide for a great police game. This is it.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromVilla Park, Il
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
its okay
PostedJuly 21, 2016
for me its okay but the bad thing is that you only have minimum amount of ammo which i dont like, the bosses are hard to kill at times. the gameplay was good. It would be better if u had lots of ammo since zombies come out of no where, not scary for me... :)
7 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromtallahasse, florida
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
goofy but good
PostedJune 27, 2016
The story is amazimg. The controls are a little goofy however, but I do recommend this as a solid game. It's very interesting following their facial features to determine if they lie or not.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
I love LA Noire
PostedFebruary 2, 2016
I played this game several times over and over again. I could not put the Controller down at all!!!!
 
Products related to my review
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromsacramento, ca
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Great Story, Amazing Graphics
PostedMarch 27, 2015
This is one of those games I play once a year or so. I got LA Noire when a friend of mine was giving away a stack of games he didn't play anymore. I wasn't originally interested in it, but it became one of my favorite games fast.The graphics are amazing, especially with the facial movements. I wouldn't say the game has THE best graphics, but I have never seen a video game that had character facial expressions that are this detailed. The story is an engaging "who-done-it" mystery that makes more and more sense the more you play it (again, the reason I've played it several times). The one thing that was... I guess alarming... was the nudity. It just caught me off-guard. But the nudity, it being a crime game, is used to progress the story and not just for the sake of having nudity in a game. That being said, it defiantly has some adult themes, and is not a game for children. All in all, I would defiantly recommend LA Noire to anyone looking for an action game with a heavy story. The one thing that I find most disappointing is the lack of a sequel!
 
Products related to my review
 
 
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGreer SC
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
I wish they would have a sequel.
PostedNovember 4, 2014
It was a game that brought surprises. Particularly the ending. Full of surprises. Very enjoyable. Unexpected characters.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromOrlando, FL
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Not really "open world"
PostedJune 1, 2014
I bought this game recently because it was under 10 dollars and it was made by Rockstar. I thought it would be like Red Dead but i was wrong. You are pretty much bound to the missions. you cant ride the trains or buy guns or anything like you can in GTA or Red Dead. The good part is that the city is absolutely HUGE. it actually take 10 min to travel from one side of LA to another. And this game is really boring there is barely any action, and when there is, the outcome is pre-decided. For a person who enjoys Open world games and the creativity that comes with it, i would not recommend this game.But for under 10 dollars it is maybe worth a try.
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromFlorida
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Pure Greatness !!
PostedApril 24, 2014
Pro's
It's like an interactive movie you cant put down.excellent graphics great sound awesome storyline.searching crime scene's is neat kinda like CSI or something cool shootout's lots of history black dahlia the city of L.A. looks amazing you can even go to the la brea tar pits interrogation's are fun just an overall great game and worth a look
Con's
what con's ???
 
Products related to my review
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPittsburgh, PA
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Rockstar Games presents Sweetness
PostedApril 22, 2014
I'm amazed this game sits in stores like K-Mart (not behind the glass) for $15 to $20 bucks. This is a great game. I played all 3 discs back to back. I couldn't throw the controller out of my hands.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromCaldwell,ID
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Perfect
PostedMarch 22, 2014
This game was astounding. Rock Star did a great job. Great price too! Gamers need to buy this game for a great time.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromPalmCoast, Florida
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Amazing
PostedNovember 2, 2013
The story mode and the graphics are amazing in this game, but you really have to be patient when you are playing. L.A. Noire isn't like Rockstars regular games like Grand Theft Auto but it has its own style. No killing civilians or running away from cops. YOU ARE THE COP!!!!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLouisiana, La
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
play game more then once
PostedSeptember 25, 2013
I would play this game about more the 2 times if i wanted to so you must play this game or you be :(
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromportland, or
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
repeditive
PostedJune 23, 2013
this game was great, at first. its the same thing over and over!just play one mission and u pretty mutch have played them all, of course the missions are fun but get boreing and the game adds a twist that just ruins half the game.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromohio
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
i love this game it's an excellent fun game.
PostedJune 12, 2013
an excellent fun game that is very creative and awesome in the story mode. I really love it when you can chase bad guys around and beat them up to tell you stuff you need to know/
Review 20 for L.A. Noire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWest Warwick, RI
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Great game!!!
PostedJune 7, 2013
This game was a definite edge of your seat, thinking about what is going on game. I totally recommend this game to anyone who wants to be apart of the game.