Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Atlus USA Demon's Souls

Beautiful, compelling, and at times unforgiving, Demon's Souls is the hardcore RPG experience PS3 owners have been waiting for since the platform's launch. Revolutionary online features define your adventure like never before, presenting seamless interconnectivity that serves in every instance to enhance the single-player game. Unprecedented in its depth and subtlety, peerless in its relentlessly challenging gameplay, Demon's Souls is the ultimate action RPG.
Overall rating:
4.488 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
201 out of 221(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Demon's Souls
Review 1 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSaint James, NY
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Hardcore RPG
PostedAugust 13, 2011
This is one of the best RPG's I've ever played. But it is only good for hardcore RPG fans. If you are new to the RPG genre this game will chew you up, spit you out, and grind you into the ground. The graphics are stunning, as are the music and sound effects. Game play is for the most part fluid, but farming for upgrade stones and souls can take a toll on your patience. All in all I enjoyed this game immensely and am looking forward to the Dark Souls sequel.
 
Products related to my review
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Brilliant!
PostedJuly 13, 2019
The precursor to Dark Souls, and beginning of greatness. A bit more challenging in level design that DS 1, but bosses not quite as daunting. Still a great fun time.
Review 3 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Amazing game
PostedJune 28, 2019
Great game if you want to see the beginnings of a great franchise this is a must have title
Review 4 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
The Souls that started it all
PostedJune 23, 2019
This is the game that started the Souls series and Souls-like phenomenon with games like Bloodborne, Sekiro, Lords of the Fallen, and 2-D games like Salt and Sanctuary and Hollow Knight. Demon’s Souls is faster-paced than its Dark Souls brethren, and its storytelling is more overt, with more conversations, exposition, and cutscenes. The difficulty is more brutal in certain places, but it’s also much easier to exploit once you know what you’re doing. The big thing that many will lose out on is the lack of Online Mode since the servers were shut down in 2018. That means none of the random invasions from other players and none of the co-op from other anonymous, summoned PCs. However, all PS3 trophies are totally achievable offline, and the New Game+ mode, World Tendencies, and dupe glitches make this one ripe for speed runs and multiple playthroughs. I can’t recommend it enough, and it’s one of my favorite games of all time.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Antiquated, yet fun
PostedJune 7, 2019
It’s the dated predecessor of Dark Souls, but it’s still an enjoyable time. Seeing where the series roots developed from is enough to justify the purchase for any souls fan. That being said, there are some glaring issues, like the camera and item burden. Worth it if you’re a fan of the series and want to see where it all came from!
Review 6 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Epically Artful
PostedMay 16, 2019
Very good game !
I enjoy the combination of beauty and intense combat style . The ability to create your character into a play style that you enjoy with the option to diversify.
Thanks you for such a great game!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Best ps3 game ever!
PostedMay 9, 2019
User submitted photo
Amazing game that had me stuck on the edge of my seat
Review 8 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
You Died again and again and again
PostedApril 13, 2019
I started off with Bloodborne and have played every title in reverse order and still have not been disappointed. Demons Souls, Dark souls, and Bloodborne are proof that sequels can be Legendary!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
A must play
PostedApril 12, 2019
I have played Dark Souls 1-3, but hadn’t played Demon Souls. It’s probably my favorite Souls game, it’s definitely not as polished as the ones that followed it, but it’s incredibly fun and atmospheric.
Review 10 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
A classic
PostedMarch 25, 2019
Cult classic by From Software. The Souls game that started it all. It's a great game with some flaws that Dark Souls 1 improved upon. A must play for any souls fan.
Review 11 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
First and Best Souls
PostedFebruary 13, 2019
Great Game, I used to have it a long time ago and let a friend borrow it and never got it back. I'm glad to be playing it again as its the first game to come out from the souls series and honestly my favorite out of all of them.
Review 12 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Awesome game!
PostedJanuary 26, 2019
Awesome game. It's my favorite out of the Souls games and the easiest. I'm definitely not saying it's easy if you never played it before as I have so I am quite used to it and I have beaten it. So if you are looking for a great Souls game, look no further than Demon's Souls.
Review 13 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSanc Kingdom
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Classic Title
PostedJanuary 16, 2019
Great game, not sure why everyone thinks it is so hard though. Pretty sure they are just trolling. This game is super easy, and you should definitely play it and beat it really fast like I did.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Must have
PostedNovember 15, 2018
This is a must have game if you like the dark souls games.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTampa Florida
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Outstanding
PostedNovember 11, 2018
From Softwares initial entry set the foundation for the entire Souls Series. Masterpiece!
Review 16 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDurham, NC
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
why so mean?
PostedOctober 13, 2018
This game is very difficult, punishes players that don't observe their surroundings. The cost of dying is high and grinding for levels isn't as important as using the right equipment. Being one of the hardest games ever by reputation will shy a lot of people away from this game, which is sad because if you put in the effort it is a very rewarding adventure. A dark but beautiful world with lots of lore for those who read item descriptions. It's worth exploring every area for swag and attempting optional bosses if you don't mind dying a lot.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSLC, UT
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Finally Sated My Dark Souls Hunger
PostedAugust 17, 2018
I bought this last week, and finished it this morning. I am a long time fan of the Souls series. I never played this due to not owning a PS3. The gameplay was great. And it was the closest I've felt to when I first played Dark Souls. It was really nice to experience for the first time, something that is entirely fundamental to a series I have so much passion for.
Review 18 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromVanton, Ga
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For someone else
Age:13-18
Gender:Male
Dont no where to go
PostedJuly 19, 2018
So far so good, have not gotten far into game. Not sure where to go in the game.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromTiverton, RI
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Frustrating
PostedJuly 17, 2018
So I do know this was the precursor to Dark Souls, but I was hoping it would be the same. But it is. I am not fond of games that take you all the way back to the begining when you die, instead of allowing you to save more before going into the big battles. Good graphics and the controls are ok.
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Demon's Souls
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Many words can describe
PostedJuly 16, 2015
Don't be tricked by the awesome and tough looking knight on the cover this game, though the game itself is fantastic it is hands down BRUTAL on the player. There are no easy-go simple tasks and easy death enemies and the bosses are anything but easy. You have to expect to die in this game. A lot. Because your armor can sometimes be the equivalent of cardboard and your sword as useful as a butter knife. You only have yourself and there aren't any followers to help you around. If you are a truly hardcore gamer and you are VERY patient: pick this game off the shelf without hesitation because it is worth every penny.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.