Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Konami Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain

Konami Digital Entertainment continues forth the METAL GEAR SOLID V Experience' with the latest chapter, METAL GEAR SOLID V: The Phantom Pain. Ushering in a new era for the franchise with cutting-edge technology powered by the Fox Engine, MGSV: The Phantom Pain, will provide players a first-rate gaming experience as they are offered tactical freedom to carry out open-world missions.
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
AAA title
PostedApril 6, 2019
Great game better on PC but bought the PS3 version for my son
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Good state of the game!
PostedJanuary 20, 2019
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this one week ago and I like it!, it is the second game (but I just started Snake Eater), but I like the game,
The state of the disc is really good, it does have the map, and I haven't seen any error yet. The graphics are good and is cool to see Venom Snake (if we leave the plot aside).
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAz
Length of ownership:1 month
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:13-18
Gender:Male
Everything Is great
PostedAugust 28, 2018
I bought this came about a week or two ago and I am glad I did. The graphics are great as well as the game play. Nice and chalenging
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromYo mamas house
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Just awesomeness
PostedAugust 27, 2018
The last metal gear to be made so had to get it.
#foxhoundforlife
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDelano, Ca
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:13-18
Gender:Male
Massive Open World
PostedJuly 23, 2018
This game is amazing there is lot to do and exlpore
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNc
This game is great in many ways, but...
PostedApril 30, 2016
My only complaints about this game is that it didn't feel finished. The mechanics, graphics, game play, everything in a technical sense felt finished, but the story felt unfinished in ways. To avoid spoilers, all I'll say is that it feels like they didn't close up all the the different plots in the game. For lack of better words they felt only partially closed.
Another complaint, is that it is pushed as an open world, but the open world feels a little closed. Often where there isn't roads, large rock/mountain structures block your path. Much older games, have a bit more open world, Red Dead Redemption comes to mind for example. However, the world you can explore, is extensive and enjoyable to explore despite the rock blocks.
Also, just like in Ground Zeroes David Hayter doesn't voice snake, which feels weird at first, but Kiefer Sutherland does a good job. Also Kojima was dropped from Konami during this game's making.
Other then above mentioned this game plays and feels great. These things don't take away from the actual game play, and what is there of the story. I purchased this game in December, and I am still playing it (now May). I particularly love the era appropriate cassettes in game.
I would recommend and have recommended this game to both fans and non-fans of the MGS series. Though, this doesn't play exactly like older MGS games, the weapon/item selection is unique to the MGS V games. However the stealth game play is still there, with a ton of new options and approaches to the stealth.
I wouldn't pass this game up.
 
Products related to my review
 
20 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNC
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Great Game Maybe My Favorite
PostedNovember 7, 2015
This game was increadible im still am playing it. Has good design except for the Gore(no turn off feature) But still is good has great story to for all those who played Metal Gear Before. (RIP Hideo Kojima)
 
Products related to my review
 
3 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBaton Rouge, La
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
awsome game
PostedSeptember 4, 2015
Now I have not yet played this game but look forward to getting this game. I have played the previous game Ground Zero and looking forward to seeing what happens next. I have played almost every other MGS game made for ps2 and ps3.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater
4.7 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
7 of 23 found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain
Based on the average of (19) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
11 out of 12 recommend this product