Product Reviews

Electronic Arts Dragon Age Inquisition

The epic role-playing series from BioWare takes a thrilling leap forward with the power of Frostbite 3. Beautiful vistas and incredible new possibilities await you. Ready yourself for Dragon Age: Inquisition.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dragon Age Inquisition
Review 1 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sound 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromMO
Weak
PostedJuly 30, 2015
Simply... it's a pretty weak game. The story is incredibly weak, and dialog are always ... "I would be honored", "Okay lets do that", and "Well if I have to". That being said if you have any interest in playing as an evil or mean character then DONT buy this game. The main protagonist's lines are pretty bland no matter how you build your character or choose your dialog. Love interests are boring, and the majority of party members just got on my nerves. And the dark overtone from the previous games have been removed or extremely toned down. As for gameplay it's a large amount of MMO style fetch quests, and the combat... hold the button to continue attacking. Wow. How exciting. At least in games like Dragon's Dogma there was combo system that made things a bit more lively. And much like that game you'll be walking for long amounts of time while doing nothing, but fighting with the terrain (walking uphill is the biggest enemy in this game). All of that above coupled with the fact I have to under-clock my graphics card to play make this game a complete waste of time and money.
 
Products related to my review
 
5 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromTexas
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Worth the Buy!
PostedFebruary 26, 2015
This is one of the best RPGs I have ever played to date, and I have played almost all of the top name games since they have been made. The pros. Beautiful graphics, movement is awesome, story line is good and you can get involved. The quest are sweet, and they just put a whole new spin on an rpg with the war council table. There is so much I like about this game will not write a book on it here. What I have so enjoyed about this game is there is a ton of exploration and pretty open world and I love to explore and find things and unlike a lot of empty games this one actually makes exploring rewarding. This is why a play a good rpg. How sweet it is to actually be able to save your spot in the game this is old school and I love it. This Game has been glitch free!!!! Very polished!!!
There are only a few cons: Wish there were a few more settings for the sounds some sound Items I would like to turn down I can not because they do not have separate sound volumes for them. My big pet peve with any rpg is screen or window loading, yes I know they must I just prefer to wait less and see more, but window loading is not uncommon in good games. There is so much to do and so many quest they did a perfect job on this game, so many secrets, just wish they would have done a little better job on helping explore in the right order, I had found that I went back to places I feel like I should have gone to first. maybe that's part of the design to let you feel like your making the decisions. warning, the search function is a pain I got use to it the nice thing about it is you can cover every area and hardly miss anything.
Worth the buy. Thanks
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDenver, CO
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Very Good Action RPG
PostedFebruary 25, 2015
For me this game is the closest thing to a single player version of world of warcraft. I was able to set the controls the same as WOW. The camera works with the mouse the same as wow. The class options are pretty good but not as many choices as wow. It lets you turn, move forward with the WASD keys and strafe with the Q and E keys. You can set all your attacks and special abilities to the number keys. You can move the camera view while right clicking and moving the mouse. The only thing that annoys me about the game is all the cut scenes and dialog choices you have to make. I have not played through the whole game yet but this game appears to be one of the best action rpg games ever.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNewport News, VA
Good for those with plenty of time.
PostedFebruary 22, 2015
If you have 70+ hours to spare, then this is the game for you. This is the kind of sequel people were looking for in Dragon Age II. There's always something to do, whether it be quests, dragon-slaying, or just looking for some love. Much, much, much to do. It's fine to play through the main quest in like 30 hours and say you beat the game. But you haven't really played the game until you've explored every location, completed every quest, and slain every dragon.
Only downside at the moment are the bugs. Depending on which one you contract can make the game unplayable. I haven't faced any serious problems except for occasional crashing Wait for Bioware to release a big patch and then buy the game.
 
Products related to my review
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromIndiana
Bioware is back and they delivered a gem
PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Lose yourself in a gorgeous massive open world, with many different stories to follow and tales to be forged. The Skyhold fortress, mission map, party system, crafting system - all excellent. The voice acting is great. Your party members have a LOT of variety in personality and you have at least 2 of each class, plus yourself, to field a party of 4, so you can play it your way and change as the situation dictates.
The great mix of Skyrim-type action RPG and slower, turn-based RPG like Transistor and similar to Fire Emblem. It's a little more action-y than Origins, and even though I generally prefer pure turn-based games, I was entertained and engaged with the combat system throughout the game.
Rest assured, a stunning success like this shows that Bioware is back after the SWTOR mistake (we all wanted KOTOR 3) and the misfire at the end of Mass Effect 3 (which I still loved anyway). Now, we can all look forward to Mass Effect 4, and whatever else Bioware has in store for us.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Great Story
PostedJanuary 17, 2015
User submitted photo
Like most sequels, this isn't as good as the first, or second. However, it is still a great game with a really interesting storyline. If you watch the small scene that is played after you complete the game after the credits, you're in for a real shocker that is definitely a lead to another game which I'm really looking forward to. Though many players may not really understand it if they didn't pay attention to the codex's and background conversations that go on among your group characters in this game and the previous ones.
Some things I found frustrating - for example some of the armor and schematics were class-specific and limited certain classes (mainly the qunari) from getting some of the better armor in the early levels. But this isn't much of an issue once you start looting/buying better things. The "non-action" activity (i.e. armor and weapon making) is less complex than in other rpg games and is pretty simple to figure out for the most part. But, the material and herb gathering is as time-consuming as ever, though as you unlock new areas and merchants, you can start buying materials if you have the money. The war table feature is actually kind of interesting, but it is confusing if you don't know what the different pieces on the map mean (it kind of reminds me of Dynasty Warriors for PS2 for those that know it.)
Overall, great game for RPG lovers. I wouldn't pass it up, but I probably won't attempt to re-play it as I did with DA 1 and 2.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Great game if you like story, RPGs and strategy.
PostedDecember 18, 2014
Great characters. Great stories and a decent main plot. Interesting mechanics. An extreme amount of content. Great options and choices to be made.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSalem, OR
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Great
PostedDecember 9, 2014
In the spirit of the franchise with much larger open world. Highly recommend to those who like action RPG's. PC version much better than console versions and offers graphics customization and controller support. Overall, A+
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSalt Lake City, UT
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Get used to the controls and enjoy!
PostedNovember 23, 2014
Being a big fan of the DA series, Inquisition is visually absolutely stunning! Ten massive open regions allow you to explore the areas which give it (to some extent) a very Skyrim-like feel. Despite lots of negative comments regarding the controls for the PC version, I have to admit that I am getting quite comfortable with the controls and they start to feel like second nature. The close-up looting and continuous mouse button holding during combat don't bother me a bit. Like I mentioned before, it takes a bit to get used to but after that it becomes more natural. One feature I'd like to see added in an upcoming patch is a key binding for walking. Like in Skyrim, I enjoy wandering around, truly enjoying the digital landscape, something I would love to be able to do in Inquisition as well. The story line is good so far (little under 10 hours in, so just starting) and the interpersonal conversations between members of your party are interesting, engaging, and funny. My first impression of the game is very good and I know that I will be enjoying this title for a very long time!
 
Products related to my review
 
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDarthFett
Auto Walking
onJanuary 15, 2015
Not sure if this was included in a patch but you can Auto Walk by hitting G on the keyboard.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gameplay 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graphics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromIdaho
This game is perfect for:kid gamers
No mods...really?
PostedNovember 21, 2014
I was looking forward to this game as I'm a fan of the series but finding out that EA isn't making the game moddable pretty much just so they can get people to buy there dlc pretty much killed any excitement I had. the games alright but not following trend on the rest of the series (which has quite alot of mods) pretty much put this at the bottom of the list for me.
3 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromJacksonville, FL
Don't waste your money-wait for a fix
PostedNovember 18, 2014
First off let me say that I was a huge fan of Dragon Age and Dragon Age II (not as much, but still fun). This game has the potential of those games (story, graphics, voice acting is superb), but the UI is HORRID for PC. *attacking is a either click your mouse constantly or hold it down or R... (in most RPGs auto attacking is... auto)
*looting is having to get within 6 inches and then right click or hit F (DA2 all you need to do is run up and hit R)
*Pressing V to find stuff via a sonar (with annoying sound) is really stupid. Apparently they did not visit the Nexus mods and realize that NO one wants to have to spam buttons for auto attacking, looting and highlighting stuff to interact with. * *The inventory UI is also pathetic and clearly made for a console. These things are completely ruining the game for me and many, many others. I would WAIT to see if Bioware will fix this or just thumb their noses at the majority of PC gamers and those console gamers who do not like these things either.
8 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dragon Age Inquisition
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gameplay 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Graphics 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sound 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This game is perfect for:kid gamers
I love EA games but....
PostedNovember 18, 2014
I respect EA and some of the games they make so I will not go out of my way to trash this game, but will just say, it's really bad, and leave it at that.
6 of 82 found this review helpful.