Product Reviews

2K Sports NBA 2K14

2K's Visual Concepts studio, the team behind NBA2K14, has seen it all in the video game world. Founded in 1988, the team has experienced countless new gaming system launches over the years. But never one like this year, with the launch of PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. Re-energized by the new systems' technology, the seasoned team at VC has developed a completely new experience for next gen NBA 2K14, featuring re-built game modes, a brand new gameplay engine, and stunning lifelike graphics.
Overall rating:
3.057 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
41 out of 78(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for NBA 2K14
Review 1 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBronx NY
Length of ownership:1 week
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Awesome
PostedSeptember 10, 2018
Great game to play even though it is old still holds up to the ages
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gameplay 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Graphics 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sound 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromminneapolis, mn
Terrible game DO NOT BUY
PostedDecember 17, 2015
The only game i have ever played where the computer can shoot 90 percent when you are on the floor but miss every shot when time is simulated. Your team will not make shots when wide open and you pass the ball to them but will make everything when your player is not the one passing the ball. Computer can pass through your players but you can not do the same. If the computer does eventually miss they will either get an offense rebound or a foul and shoot free throws. Worst game i have ever played in my life. Nothing like real basketball at all.
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byThrow back
Hudson, MA, United States
onJuly 14, 2017
This game is really good it's a TBT game and this game has awesome graphics
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gameplay 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromfall river MA
This game is perfect for:kid gamers
Worst sports game i have ever played.
PostedSeptember 14, 2015
If you pay 4 bucks for this you paid 5 bucks too much. This game is horendous. Unplayable. No custlmization for players. Laggy, horrible online. No create players or create teams anymore. My player doesnt even have a choice of shots anymore. Its all just bare bones. A dry shell of a game. The 360 one is waayyyy better. Night and day. How they ruined this game so much is beyond me. Dont buy this. I warned you. If you have this game use it a a coaster for your beer. If someone has this game for free refuse it. It isnt worth the plastic its printed on. Its even worst than passin a kidney stone
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gameplay 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Graphics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromConnecticut
Don't waste your money and time!
PostedApril 7, 2015
This game was obviously rushed and not completed for the gamers. The NBA 2K server is all jacked up and is constantly down where you can't even enter a career mode, which is very frustrating to say nonetheless. If I were Lebron James, I would sue 2K for degrading my picture image on this front cover. Don't waste your money and boycott 2K15, unless you prefer wasting time and money.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromBaltomore
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
This game is good but I had a few problems
PostedMarch 5, 2015
When I bought this game for Xbox one , I was excited because of park . I went to my career and I didnt see park . I was so disappointed . If anyone can tell me how this could be fixed please tell me because I was looking forward to playing park
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromohio
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Not that good
PostedJuly 23, 2014
Positives great graphics fun to play
negatives mycareer is awful itis completly scripted and i had a goal get 12 assist so not hard i average 10 .7 they make it impossible to pass and i had like 9 turnovers 2 assist at the end of 2 quarters ... my gm is terrible stuff pops up ever 10 seconds and you can have 5 files of my gm and my career combined!! so you have to delete one everytime basically. Online Leagues is basically broken you cant even start one. Basically 2k did a bad job like usual and never fixed any of it... VERY dissapointed don't buy this game
 
Products related to my review
Xbox One 500GB Console with Kinect
4 out of 5(343)
 
 
 
 
 
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gameplay 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Graphics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Waste of money do not buy
PostedJuly 7, 2014
It has corrupted 5 times waste of money plz do not buy I will never buy another nba 2k14 ever again.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFl
best nba simulator
PostedJune 25, 2014
I love nba games and this one is the best out of all the ones i played the graphics are really good the gameplay mechanics are great i really enjoy the carrer mode and online play. If you enjoy playing nba games i recommend you give this one a try
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromWinchester, VA
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
NBA 2K14
PostedJune 24, 2014
This was the first NBA 2K game that I bought straight up for the $60 dollars. It was worth the money and I may even buy 2K15 brand new when it comes out. I'm not a huge fan of Basketball (I love to play, but watching is different), but this game really got me hooked. The GM Mode is what got me. I love being in charge of a team and building it on my own, and that is exactly what GM Mode is. You are responsible for signing and drafting players to improve your team and eventually win and NBA Championship. It's a really rewarding process. Trades are pretty realistic and it is overall a great experience. The online play is solid as well. I enjoyed playing 5v5 online. It really takes a lot of teamwork to win those matches and it is fun to see some of the moves and tricks that the players have up their sleeves. I played the story line a little bit, too. You get to create your own character and go through the draft process and play out their career as an NBA player. There is a lot to do with this game and the experience I got out of it was great. This truly is a FUN game, and that's all that really matters in the end. It has gone down in price, and we are still a few months away from the release of NBA 2K15. If you have a way to rent or borrow it, definitely give it a try. Sports games come out annually, so if you want to wait it out for 2K15, that's cool, too. You really can't go wrong with this game.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBoston, Ma
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Great game for any sports fan!
PostedMay 28, 2014
I love this game and I love 2k. Now the only bad thing about this game is of course 2k's online servers going down here and there although it isn't down for a long time. My Career mode is so cool and realistic. I wish they added more NBA player voices for halftime interviews or when you're talking to one in my career mode. Really fun game other than that. I believe this game is one of the best games that was released on Day One for the Xbox One. It's worth $60 and has great lasting appeal especially if you love the game of basketball like I do.
 
Products related to my review
 
 
Review 11 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gameplay 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DO NOT BUY!
PostedMay 26, 2014
Again 2k has failed to deliver a product that works. They cut out player customization almost completely for my career. Then they still try to replace my crew with The Park. This is terrible because you can never play with your friends! You try to go in and select "Play with Friends" and select your friend that you want to play with but you never end up in the same park with them!! The graphics are great but the game itself is absolutely terrible. If I worked for 2k I would be very embarrassed to work for them and produce this poor of a product. No matter what do not buy this game (just look at the price drop Gamestop did!) 2k is the only game to have been dropped down by roughly $20!
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromWaterbury, CT
Best sports game out!
PostedMay 10, 2014
This game is amazing. By far my fav sports game. Graphics, gameplay, sounds are all insane! Could use better control or I'd give it a 10
Review 13 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromPhilly
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Best Next Gen Sports Game
PostedMay 9, 2014
The graphics immediately stand out. Unbelievably realistic. The players even will roll their eyes if they miss a free-throw. Immerses you a lot. The controller vibrates slightly on each dribble, on the side of the hand your dribbling. Crazy good.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromMichigan
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Best basketball game on the planet !!
PostedMay 1, 2014
I love this game !! For a game that wasn't built for next gen this year. Can't wait to see a new engine for 2K15
Review 15 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best sports games I've ever played
PostedApril 23, 2014
This game is amazing. The mechanics are good, the graphics are great, and I love the MyCareer mode. There are a few glitches here and there, but if you are patient, they aren't that bad. The multiplayer is annoying though. I was waiting for a half hour and still wasn't able to play a game. The shooting takes some getting used to because you have to time it and if you use the right stick for shooting, make sure you are pointing it toward the basket and you'll be fine.
Review 16 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSt. Johns, FL
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
GREAT GAMEPLAY BUT...
PostedApril 21, 2014
"MY GM" is broken...can't play a shorter season. I don't want to play an 82 game season. I love the trades, the draft, and all that comes with playing a dynasty mode. I love rebuilding a team from terrible to World Champion. But I have to play 82 games to do it? That stinks.
 
Products related to my review
 
Review 17 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromHagerstown,MD
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
New to 2K series
PostedApril 21, 2014
I always played the NBA Live series game before Xbox One came out. Once I brought my new Xbox the Sales Associate suggested I would get 2K14 instead of Live because all the feedback they have been getting from live was bad. I did my research and went back and got NBA2K14. I love it! There was so much thought put into this game with the different game types they have in there. I really like the My Career mode. I like seeing my player develop as the season goes. The My GM mode is pretty cool too but I'm not the most knowledgeable person about the business side of the game. So it's cool to mess around with. But the part I don't like is the online play. It's cool how it's sat up at an outside basketball park to go play in but you have to wait5-10 mins just to play a game that can be ridiculously one sided. It would have been nice to have the option to choose what team size you wanted then be put into a lobby to play that game. Also the 2K serves are just awful. They lag or are down a lot. It get annoying when it lags then freezes and you have to restart the system. This has happened a few time since I have gotten it. If they could at least fix the serves to make them more reliable that would make the game golden and if not the game is still pretty good.
Review 18 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromSan Francisco
This game is perfect for:kid gamers
Really dropped the ball
PostedMarch 26, 2014
I'm very disappointed in this game. They took out the season mode which was my favorite. The mechanics are terrible, the game feels jerky. Most of the modes take waaaaay to long to load, especially considering it's installed on the hard drive. I'll go back to playing NBA 2K13 until a better game comes out.
Review 19 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromNew Orleans, LA
This game is perfect for:party gamers
The Shooting is bad
PostedMarch 23, 2014
Most of the time when we shoot we miss, even if the timing was excellent. 1 times out of 10 we'll make a 3 point. We get a Quality grade after every shoot. And sometimes when we shoot a excellent timer they'll still give us a C, D, or F for a grade, an that's why we miss. Excellent timers should be an A or A+. But the computers make their shoots 8 out of 10 times.
I wonder how bad is NBA Live 14. Because gamers said NBA Live 14 is worse than NBA 2k14.
Review 20 for NBA 2K14
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromSan Antonio, TX
Worst 2k EVER
PostedMarch 22, 2014
Graphics are better than any 2k game ever. but there are only three game modes. im so frustrated they took out multiplayer season. in mycareer i got traded to the same team its so dumb. to do everything you have to spend vc its ridiculous. CPU is terrible. the gameplay is terrible you lose the ball out of nowhere. cant do anything in this 2k. cant even create your own roster . There is no free agency in mycareer. no freedom to do anything. 2k servers are the worst in this game. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!