Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Konami Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Outstanding Achievement in Original Music CompositionMetal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is the final chapter in the saga of Solid Snake which sends him around the world in pursuit of his arch nemesis, Liquid Ocelot. Armed with new gadgets and abilities, Solid Snake must shift the tides of war into his favor, using the chaos of the battlefield to infiltrate deep into enemy territory. In his globetrotting final mission, Snake must sneak deep into enemy locations in the Middle East, South America, and other corners of the Earth to foil Liquid Ocelot's plans for total world domination.
Overall rating:
4.645 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
334 out of 364(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length of ownership:1 year or longer
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else?For me
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
amazing game
PostedJuly 11, 2019
Metal gear it's been one of my favorite games ever, and this game didn't fall short from my expectations
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Universally Acclaimed For A Reason
PostedNovember 3, 2017
Genuinely one of greatest games of all time, without a doubt. Strongly recommend anyone and everyone to play this game because you won't regret it, fan of the series or not.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSandy, UT
My favorite game of all time!
PostedDecember 7, 2015
Metal Gear Solid 4 is in my opinion, the best game ever made! It has great Gameplay, Graphics, Sound, and STORY. The only little fault I have with this game is that the frame-rate is all over the place (but never dips below 24).
MOST EMOTIONAL SCENE! DO NOT WATCH UNLESS YOU HAVE PLAYED THE GAME!
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromUnited States
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Another Great Metal Gear Game
PostedSeptember 12, 2015
While this is probably my least favorite in the series so far, it's still a great game. The gameplay is probably the best in the series, and it wraps up Solid Snake's story beautifully. I only have a few qualms about this game. First off, SPOILERS, the ending. In the end, when Snake holds a gun to his head and fires, I lost it. I was trying not to cry, not because it was sad, which it was, but that the ending to the game was so beautiful! Snake knew that he had to die for the good of mankind, so he did it, right? Well, not really. Another cutscene comes up and, turns out, Snake didn't kill himself. And surprise, Big Boss is here! It completely ruined the moment. Literally, when I saw at cutscene, I rolled my eyes and just waited for the game to end. Also, though there are a few impressive moments in the game, the story is pretty bland for a Metal Gear game. Also, like Metal Gear Solid 2, the environment that you are in is mainly very bland, except for when you go back to Shadow Moses. That was awesome! . Besides these things, the game was actually pretty good. Any Metal Gear fan will enjoy it. If you want to get into Metal Gear, I wouldn't really start with this game though. It was great, but a little disappointing in some areas.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromArnold, MD
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
It's been a long time... brother!
PostedAugust 12, 2015
Without blowing any story details, I'm just going to get this out of the way: Metal Gear Solid 4 - Guns of the Patriots is the conclusion to the Solid Snake era of the series and it has been done right, and better than what I had in mind. Simply, there's no way I could have asked for a better ending than this. I've always been a fan of the MGS story lines, and this is my favorite part of the story. I understand Hideo Kojima has talked about the series continuing but without him being directly involved anymore as well as the absence of the long-time protagonist Solid Snake, but after this game fans would be left to question where would the series go when MGS5 comes out? Well, we won't know until then so let's enjoy MGS4.
 
Products related to my review
 
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPuerto Rico
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
BUY IT NOW!!!!!!
PostedMarch 3, 2015
I don't know what to say, the game just blew my mind, its that good!!!!!! I bought this game back at 2011, I already owned all the MGS, thought they were great games. Then this game came, and changed my life!!!!!!!!
 
Products related to my review
 
 
Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops
4.2 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMinnesota
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
A wonderful game with an intense story line.
PostedNovember 28, 2014
This game was fun to play and was full of heart-pounding stealth moments. Also there were jokes incorporated throughout the game. A perfect game for someone who would like to know the end of the Metal Gear series.
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNot important
Almost a 10/10
PostedJune 18, 2014
This should have been the best Metal Gear game. Sadly it isn't.
I won't go in-depth, put here are a few things that people fail to point out in this game.
1. There are so many cutscenes that are entirely pointless, or could be speed up to save time. Nothing would be lost if these cutscenes were removed. In fact, there are 3 relationships in this game that take up at least 1 hour, of the 8.5 hours of cutscenes ,that should have been removed as they add nothing to the story. The story should have been refined more.
2. There are a few forced or nonsensical moments. While few in quantity, these moments could have easily been changed.
3. Something that is never addressed is the blizzard effects. This might qualify as the best effect in video game history! Developers generally think as rain, snow, fog, ect... as an auxiliary to the game. If the blizzard effects were not in MGS4, the game would be much less impressive. The snow gradually collects on stationary objects. The high winds can push snow off, or carry more onto an object. Taking cover will make the snow gradually fall off in an impressive manner. The blizzard obscures Snake's vision, sometimes inhibiting his line of sight to a meter in front of him; conversely the storm may lighten up to allow Snake to see 15 meters in front off him. taking cover behind an object were the wind isn't blowing will cause the snow to fall off. What needs to be understood is that the blizzard effect was not an afterthought. It is a very graphically impressive feature ahead of its time.
4. The music and voice acting some of the best in gaming history, even for today.
5. The world building is great. The game provides visuals and information that establish the Metal Gear world well.
MGS4 has a great main plot, some very evocative moments, and is extremely graphically impressive. This review doesn't cover much, but the 5 points are rarely covered and need to be known. This game should be a 10/10, but too many idiotic additions to the story prevent it from being so.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromIL
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Raiden!?
PostedMay 17, 2014
The game is so cool but I am disappointed that raiden is not playable but he was doing ok but that game is the worst for him because he was suffering way to many injuries. I would have helped him if I was part of the game. At least the game is so cool anyway and make it more better for raiden from sons of liberty.
Review 10 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPittsburgh, PA
Metal Gear Solid Like Stone
PostedApril 22, 2014
Its the ONLY reason I bought a PS3. I'm so happy the transaction from Snake Eater on PS2 to here was done right. 100% gold stars for that. The storyline for this installment was fantastic. The graphics are starting to look better than square enix. A legend on the PS3
Review 11 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOak Creek, WI
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Greatest cinematic Metal Gear Solid game ever!
PostedJanuary 14, 2014
I have Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots for 6 years along with the old fat version of the Playstation 3 and i beat it 7 or 8 times already. Now i'm going for the ninth. This game is one of the most greatest metal gear solid game ever in video game history. I like the fact that i got to do solo sneaking missions at five, count 'em, FIVE locations: MIddle east, south america, eastern europe, shadow moses island,the same place solid snake infiltrated at in metal gear solid, and of course outer haven, liquid ocelot's kingdom full of The FROGS and scarabs the unmanned scouts. The B&B corp battle was pretty frightening and dangerous because the way they fight scared me in the game face mode. The name of the B&B's are Laughing Octopus, Raging Raven Crying wolf, and the mastermind mind control thanks to the late psycho mantis, Screaming Mantis. I've beaten all four of 'em and after that, the horror psychological behavior and creepy sound effect of their terrifying past has come to action and it was horrifically awesome! So, Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is the best!
 
Products related to my review
 
Review 12 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSeattle,WA
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
One of Best games
PostedOctober 6, 2013
Great story, Gun customizing, Movie cut Scenes are great, game play is top noch. Being abling lay on your stomach or back and firing your weapon is just awsome . MGS GOP is one of best games ever top 10 games of all time for PS3.
 
Products related to my review
 
Review 13 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTexas
A Fitting End
PostedSeptember 8, 2013
To preface, I am not a fan of bloated review scores. When I see 10/10 across the board on a review, I get leery. In this case however, I could not find a category to dock this in points. While not flawless(nothing is), this is the greatest game I have ever played.
In this review, I will only speak generally, for the game is something that needs to be experienced firsthand. First off, the game borrows heavily from MGS1, 2, and 3, so I would definitely recommend playing those first to truly appreciate the resolution of the various plot arcs. (Portable Ops is optional)
You may have heard word of cutscenes approaching 90 minutes, but surprisingly, they never feel lengthy, and will likely have you sitting on the edge of your seat. Also, there is plenty of gameplay inbetween. The story is an intense one, that brought me through a full range of emotions like no game has to me before.
The one thing that bothered me about the game was the lack of Codec conversations. Whereas previous games would have unique conversations with half a dozen people for every event in the game, MGS4 only has two frequencies, one which rarely offers anything but health advice. However, I did not feel this was enough to knock the game on, and what the game lacked in Codec conversations it made up for in environment diversity, something that has been lacking in previous Metal Gear games.
All in all, the game is a masterpiece, neatly tying up the 20 year saga.
Review 14 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
frommarlette MI
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
loved it
PostedSeptember 4, 2013
this was one of the 1st ps3 games i ever got and it was a great game and still is one of the greatest game still ever made
Review 15 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of gaming's virtually flawless
PostedAugust 25, 2013
After playing Metal Gear, Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake, MGS1, MGS2, MGS3, and MGS Peace Walker (The Order I recommend the MGS games to be played and after 4 go to Rising). I was stoked for MGS 4 and from start to finish I was blown away. The Story for me was the most gripping out of the series, so I won't spoil anything. The Graphics were very realistic from the character's facial features and their design. The Sound was very good. The famous stealth Gameplay is almost perfected, but the radar you have is similar to MGS3 and is not as effective as the original Soliton Radar from MG2, MGS1 and 2. The Lasting Appeal is high because of the secrets you find throughout the game. Overall, this game is almost flawless in almost every way. Now time to try... The Last of Us.
 
Products related to my review
 
Review 16 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromCA
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Perfect.
PostedAugust 4, 2013
The Metal Gear Solid series in my opinion has always been a perfect one, but when i first got my hands on this game i knew Kojima meant well. Upon getting my PS3 one of the first games i purchased with it was this one. Metal Gear Solid 4 was an amazing third person sneaking game with amazing graphics for it's time. The game play is very similar to Metal Gear Solid 3's for example you can choose from different types of camo which can help you blend in with your surroundings or use octo camo which automatically switches whatever you lay on or against to your camo and another new element added to this metal gear is purchasing and customizing weapons. Metal Gear Solid 4 may go down on my top 10 list of games i have ever played and after upon beating the game of course you can play over again finding or unlocking new items, guns, and camo. I really enjoyed this installment and look forward to see what else Kojima has ready for us in the future.
 
Products related to my review
 
Review 17 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromClarkston, MI
Requires a certain taste
PostedJune 25, 2013
You may be wondering why I rated the game so well on graphics, gameplay and sound, but poorly on lasting appeal. Well, here's the deal: Metal Gear Solid 4, as a story telling device, is near unparalleled, but unfortunately, like Kingdom Hearts II, if you haven't played the previous games, you will NOT enjoy the game, since you won't know what's going on, which is even worse in this game's case because it's mostly cutscenes. Even if you do know what's going on, you may still find yourself confused by a couple of things. Not to mention, there's not much of a point to play the game more than once, because when you're watching all those long cutscenes again, already aware of what's going to happen, they get pretty tedious, and sometimes kinda dumb. Not to mention, while the gameplay is fun, it's not a stealth game. Yes, I know they call it a stealth game, and it can function as a stealth game, but the problem is that you can play it like any other action shooter and you'll be absolutely fine. However, despite some major problems in terms of both gameplay and story structure, believe it or not, there are actually a handful of moments that make the entire game worth it. You may think I'm exaggerating, but I'm not at all: a select few 25 minutes out of the 5 hours of cutscenes really do make the entirety of it worth it. (SPOILER ALERT) Raiden vs. Vamp, Snake vs. Liquid, when Raiden meets his son and forgives Rosemary, and Big Boss's salute at The Boss's grave almost brings tears to my eyes. But again, these moments will only be that spectacular if you've played the other games, which I have. So yeah, Metal Gear Solid 4: you'll have to prepare if you want to enjoy it fully.
 
Products related to my review
 
Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater
4.7 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 18 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromaz
A Well Desevered Ending for My Favorite Snake
PostedJune 23, 2013
Mgs4 is one of my favorite games because it is metal gear and it had a great ending to close the book on solid snake, my favorite of the snakes. It is a well crafted game with amazing moments only found in mgs4. Mgs4 is a sad yet heroic game that tells of one mans bravery and I loved the game from start to finish. I hope you enjoyed the game like I did. psn (DemonicAgentX)
Review 19 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromNew York,NY
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
amazing
PostedJune 21, 2013
the best metal gear i have ever played,good story,improved gameplay, and some nostalgia, a perfect game for stealth and metal gear fans to enjoy, lets see if mgs5 surpasses this revolutionary game
 
Products related to my review
 
Metal Gear Solid HD Collection Limited Edition
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 20 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Only for real gamers
PostedJune 21, 2013
To me this has been one of the most amazing and interesting game I have ever played. To really understand what's going on u might want to play some of the earliest games and u will really get into the story of MG4. The story is great and really complex, it explains everything that's going on in the tons of cutscenes that go on throughout the game. If u are looking for a game and want something out of the ordinary, THEN GET MG4, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!!,!!!!!!!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.