Product Reviews

Ragnarok Odyssey

Ragnarok Odyssey is set in an original world based on Norse mythology where a battle is being waged between humans and giants after the fall of the gods had previously separated the races. Players create their characters from over 20,000 possible combinations based on customizable physical features, then select one of six specialized job classes. The game's real-time battles are fast and furious as players can fling enemies skyward, follow them into the air for gravity-defying strikes, then finish off the combo by smacking them clear across the stage. Gameplay is driven forward by story-advancing and optional quests, and up to four players can fight together in online co-op mode.
Overall rating:
3.727 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
8 out of 11(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Ragnarok Odyssey
Review 1 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromForest Lake, MN
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
RPGs style with quests utilizing great fighting!
PostedMay 17, 2016
Story is great along with graphics. Ability to collect items and expand weapons and craft armour. Combo fighting style keeps things interesting as you level up while doing your quests.
Review 2 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromWorcester, MA
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
While fun in small bursts, this game lacks.
PostedMarch 16, 2014
I would say for sure that I was excited when I purchased Ragnarok: Odyssey. In fact, it was the second game I bought for my Playstation Vita. However all of the hype was soon lost when I began my journey into a game that lacked explanation, emotion, and general prowess.
At its startup you get a lot of hype building in your head. An action packed intro video, vast customization for your character, and a handful of unique weapon classes. However, this hype lasts for about 5 mins into the game when you realize that they don't really explain anything to you.
They pretty much tell you right from the get go that you're a recruit and you need to protect the city by going on quests that help you earn exp. and thus expanding your skills and overall strength.
You do mission after mission to get to boss battles where you fight giant creatures. That I would say was the funnest part for me, the boss battles. It was really cool trying to see if your little girl with a giant hammer could take down a giant beast. But the boss battles were about the only thing from quest that were actually challenging. There was nothing that hard about fighting mouses or little blobs of goo over and over again.
Its tedious really, and the lack of actually dub makes it even more dreadful doing quest after quest only to hear nothing but the grunts and squeaks of npcs. Not having any actual voiced lines makes you feel disconnected from the story (not that there really is one) and you find yourself getting bored quite quick.
I had high hopes, I really did but this game wasn't that good to me and I would recommend it to anyone with a sense of taste.
 
Products related to my review
 
Review 3 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graphics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
You Have to be in to it.
PostedJanuary 5, 2014
This game, for the average FPS and assassins creed kind of player, most likely will not be much fun. The gameplay is often very slow paced and not very exciting. I would recommend personally Assassins Creed III: Liberation, The Amazing Spider-Man, or Uncharted Golden Abyss. These games have a much better fighting system and have a good story line, unlike Ragnarok Odyssey.
 
Products related to my review
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromLowell, NC
Its Pretty Good !
PostedAugust 13, 2013
This Is A Good Game. (Especially Online!) I Had Alot Of Fun Playing This Game Online ! But The Only Thing Is, When You Beat It, It Really Just Gets Repetitive , So Then Playing Online Would Be The Only Great Thing About It .... But I Still Had Tons Of Fun !
Review 5 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Gameplay 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Graphics 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sound 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromRI
Stale
PostedMarch 11, 2013
I bought this game because of the customizable features and description of long gameplay. However, every mission takes play on one of maybe five map. The 20,000 character customizations is based on factorials. There are really only 7-8 customizations + main weapon. You do not gain experience from killing anything so you can basically rush to the goal since fighting is a waste. I wanted to like this game but I've played better games that cost a tiny fraction of the price.
Review 6 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTexas
My favorite game so far!
PostedDecember 3, 2012
Before I get into this I want to say that I haven't played the online mmo for this game nor have I even heard of it. Now that that's our of the way lol This type of game is something I've wanted to play on a hand held gaming device since the original gameboy. 90 kids you know what I'm talking about. Odyssey is a game that you'll find yourself playing for hours, If its simply fighting that boss again because you need something to craft an item, or you just want to try another job to see how awesome you are. This game will deliver, typical anime style for the graphics, beautiful visuals, and as you get stronger clothing becomes less of an option for female characters... O.o the online is great, (when everyone has decent connection) there are some lag spikes when you get a 3g user in the room and can be a bit of a pain when you catch a couple lag spikes back to back. When online you can also summon a keypad to type messages, or up to 10 preset messages with your choice of actions or anime faces (as I call them) to express what you feel when you type them and they are easily accessible by pushing it on the touchscreen. To keep from rambling i'll simply say that this game is well worth the money, everything you expect before you play it is just what you'll receive when you finally do! Pick it up its worth it!
Review 7 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromYorktown, VA
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
When Phantasy Star online met Monster Hunter.
PostedNovember 27, 2012
If you have been craving a decent RPG more less a MMORPG on a handheld for a while and here it is. I've put about 60 hours into this game and is still loving it. Also note I have recently purchased Persona 4 Golden and Ragnarock Odyssey keeps in the back of my mind. I know, I know, shame on me, and don't get me wrong. Persona 4 is an amazing game but hear me out. I Also have a group of 6 friends I play with off and on, so the review maybe more bias since I have an advantage to enjoy this friends and not much on shooters, but more mainly fighting games and RPG's. So let me begin.Let me give you the Pros and Cons with the Game itself:
Pros:
-Controls are a breeze with a easy to pick up combo system which involves you using the Triangle and Circle buttons for attacks.(Similar to a Devil May CryFeel) R Button is to block and run, Square is to dash (ground or mid-air) and potions are accessed threw touch screen, along with a Dainsleif Mode (Beast Mode! which I refer to it), that gives you high attack and critical hits, but depletes health when not striking a enemy. Triangle are for fast attacks, and Circle for heavy attacks. Hold Circle alone for a charged Heavy attack, Heavy Spell, or Heal depending on the Job chosen.
-Charter Selection is decent. You start by a "Creating Character" and his or her Job, which include:
Sword Warrior (Medium speed, Medium attack damage)
Assassin (Super Fast, High damage, Low Defense)
Hammersmith (Very high attack damage, High HP, Slow speed)
Mage (High Powered Ranged attacks, Low HP,Long Range,Low Defense)
Cleric (Low-Medium Attack, High Defense, Healer class)
Hunter (Long Range, Archer, Medium Attack)
-Material Collecting is a blast and the item management is automatic with the select button. All items are usually needed because you upgrade gear but using the items collected instead of leveling, so feel free to unleash the hoarder in you. Only time you level up or in this game "Rank up" is when you complete each Chapter.
-Great Monster Design and back ground design. And huge monsterous Boss Battles. And charater models are decent some being awesome with the different outfit and dye choices.
-Item up gradeing system is simple by pressing the triangle in the main menu on a selected weapon and armor which gives you all the infomation you need to see what to upgrade on a weapon or armor and
also what materials to collect. Items say where they can be collected from their item descrption once you've collected the item. You also Collect Cards from killing different monsters/bosses to attach to your Armor which give you Different boosts. You gain new Cards not only by killing random monsters, breaking barrels and defeating gigantic bosses. But also by upgrading your weapons to their max point by then destroying the weapon and keeping the attibutes in it in the form of a card.
-Two modes in the game. For you loners which are single player (lower dificulty) to a seperate 4 player Co-Op (higher dificulty). Completing a mission and/or chapter in Muliplayer converts to single player vice versa.
-Very high replay value, and great length with endless hours of game play. Includeing extra missions and soon to see DLC. With great music and BMG unlocks and apperal unlocks.
- Item Transfering is a breeze with the near application.
-No to impressively quick loading times.
------------------------------------------------------
Cons:
-Lock on system can wonkey and can be annoying at times by mistargeting an enemy or in a Boss Battle's case an incorrect body part.
-Can be frustrating slightly, to slightly difficult at times for newbies to RPG's. Although I believed it to be slightly easier then Monster Hunter.
- For the most part the Camera can be compliant at times which is controlled by the right stick or tapping the L button to movie the came to the point of you facing, but still can be inconsistant when stuck against walls, or when a gang of enemies swarm.
-Mutiplayer can be extremely laggy to dropping the connection at times. Mostly with 4 players in the Co-Op.
-Graphics are a bit dated. Close to PS2 but it is a handheld and graphics are not everything. So it is a minor complaint.
-No voice chat options without party chat activated. It is replaced by a in game text message system which is overly censored at times and limited to a character amount.
-Can be repetitive to unaccustomed RPG players. Which most RPG's are a grind. Fetch these items, or Kill this boss, or kill this amount of enemies.
Overall this game is fun, addictive, and challenging. I recommend this to most Vita owners. Hopefully this is a great start for a great Vita library which is slighly barren until recently.
13 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromHonolulu, Hi
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
Fun game
PostedNovember 4, 2012
This game plays very similar to titles like phantasy star but there is no leveling grind at all in the game. Instead your stats increase as you progress the story (so after each chapter). In order to get better equipment/upgrades/aesthetics, you have to hunt down drops from creatures as you progress through the game. This game also brings great reminders of Ragnarok Online when I used to play it, and helps with the nostalgia factor. Has a local coop/online coop system much like PSO and since level doesn't seem to be much of an issue, it would allow players of all ranges to enjoy the game together. Great title to wait for
 
Products related to my review
 
 
Phantasy Star Portable 2
4.4 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gameplay 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromLA
This game is perfect for:casual gamers
the hype for this game was too high
PostedNovember 4, 2012
i really wanted to like this game so much. it was one of the most anticipated vita games but it didnt live up to all the hype. first of all the graphics are pretty good. and the game starts out fun but it gets really repetitive fast. your pretty much doing the same thing over and over and the ranking up system in the game takes away all of the fun in a rpg. i also had a hard time following the story and there is almost no voice acting. camera sucks also. but overall the game isnt horrible. i just expected too much. this game had alot of potential. i feel like this was a missed opportunity. but worth playing
 
Products related to my review
 
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gameplay 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromCT
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
A must buy for PS Vita Owners
PostedNovember 3, 2012
this is thee game you should buy and dare i say one of the best games on the vita right now i bought this the same day as ACliberation and i haven't even opened it yet .i just cant tear my self away from it. As for multilayer it actually really good there might be times when you get some lag but it dose not last all that long. all great game and great fun
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gameplay 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graphics 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sound 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lasting Appeal 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromVancouver, WA
This game is perfect for:hardcore gamers
Wash, Rinse, Repeat
PostedNovember 2, 2012
Mission areas are very repetitive. But when a new area is revealed its very satisfying.
Boss fights are very tough in this game, however with a good wifi connection or friends to play ad hoc with it can make things much easier. However the inability to trade items with other players in multiplayer is a big miss with near being the only way to distribute items.
Combat is fast, fluid, and on the simple side. Customizing your outfit with cards is very strategic and deep as monster cards can have multiple effects on your character.
Finding the correct ingredients for refining a weapon can be tough. You only level your character when you complete a chapter so grinding is out.
If you don't mind helping others in multiplayer and don't mind repetitive maps then this game is a buy. This game becomes a must buy if you actually know someone with a vita and can play two player with someone.