Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Orvis River Run Outfitters, MO

River Run Outfitters was established in 1999 and is a full-line fly-fishing shop and Orvis Dealer. In addition to selling and providing expert advice on gear selection, we also offer half- and full-day guided fly-fishing trips in western-style driftboats. Fly-fishing, casting, and tying clinics and schools are also available.
Overall rating:
4.971 / 5
5
 / 
5
473 out of 473(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for River Run Outfitters, MO
Review 1 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromTaneycomo,Taneycomo, Missouri
Great Outfitter
PostedOctober 3, 2019
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Dana was our guide on Saturday. This was our first time on this river and Dana did a great job of teaching us about the river and helping us with our fishing. We tried several methods and had a great experience. Fishing was a little slow but we were able to find and catch several fish.
Carolyn took us out on Sunday and was able to put us on lots of fish. Carolyn made our trip so much fun...helped us with our fishing and showed us several technics that helped us.
I'm looking forward to getting back out with them
Review 2 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromGuthrie, OK
Great trip as always!!
PostedOctober 2, 2019
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Carolyn allowed me to take my dog, Miley. It was her first guided trip. We had a great day catching nice rainbows.
Review 3 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromAZ
Fishing with Gina
PostedOctober 2, 2019
Spent the day on the River, catching many nice fish on San Juan worms. Gina, my guide, was knowledgeable, professional and manned the oars through rain and sunshine. A wonderful experience I would recommend to anyone planning a trip to southern Missouri.
Review 4 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromCentral Illinois
Great Fishing Trip
PostedOctober 1, 2019
In extremely hot conditions, our guide, Carolyn Parker, got us on fish. She is very experienced, has great suggestions to improve our fishing, and thoroughly made the trip fun and a success. I cannot see how she could have made our trip more enjoyable. Her patience was never visibly strained even though we made many mistakes.
Review 5 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromWaterloo Illinois
As always great trip
PostedSeptember 30, 2019
The trip with river run outfitters is probably me 10 trip. 5 with my wife who isnt as progessed at fly fishing as I have but thanks to caroline and the staff she gets better all the time. I've been on alot of floats across the country. Ive always used orvis guides. I rate them by river run. The others don't rate even close. I will not go to taneycomo without a trip with them
Review 6 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromIllinois
9-17 lake taneycomo float with Gina, river run
PostedSeptember 30, 2019
Had a wonderful experience with gina from river run outfitters. Started slow but gina persisted and found the right combination with a red san Juan worm and root beer midge. It was my wife's first time fly fishing and gina was an excellent choice. We will definitely try to book with gina next time we are in Branson.
Review 7 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromThawville IL
Made me love fly fishing!
PostedSeptember 30, 2019
My husband had fly fished for several years and I wanted to enjoy it with him. He purchased a guided experience for us with Gina. What an amazing and fun morning! With the patience of a true teacher, Gina not only introduced me to the concepts and basic skills of the sport but also to the pure joy and soul nourishment of fly fishing. She has “hooked” me in to the community of those who not only love the outdoors but love to fly fish! We highly recommend River Run Outfitters and Gina!
Review 8 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromLenexa KS
A perfect morning
PostedSeptember 16, 2019
I took my daughter trout fishing with river run outfitters.
Carolyn was our guide.
We were novices w fly fishing but Carolyn was a wonderful teacher. Kind, patient and competent.
She also was cognizant of our time restraints and we appreciated that.
The scenery was beautiful and peaceful. And we caught rainbow trout!
This was more than a morning of great entertainment. It was learning a new skill and hopefully a lifetime of enjoying the outdoors while trout fishing!
Review 9 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromBranson
Great day
PostedSeptember 11, 2019
User submitted photo
I had a great day of fishing with Carolyn recently. She is very knowledgeable, hard-working, and personable. I would recommend her to anybody for a half day on Lake Taneycomo.
Review 10 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromBranson, MO
Fun Day!!
PostedSeptember 11, 2019
Fished with Darren Sadler of Branson MO’s River Run Outfitters on a mid 90’s muggy 9/8/2019 day. Could not have been with a more pleasant, knowledgeable & patient guide. Did not catch lots of fish due to tough conditions & Darren was still willing to keep fishing when we said we were done! Out first time in a drift boat was great. Left feeling like we had spent the day with an old friend.
Review 11 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromJerico Springs
Great Trip!
PostedSeptember 11, 2019
My husband and I spent Saturday 9/7 with Carolyn, what a great day! Joe and I are both new to fly fishing and Carolyn was very patient and knowlegable, I learned I have a lot to learn and she pointed me in the right direction! With her help, I landed my first trout caught on a fly rod (and many more throughout the day), I am a fan for life! We are looking forward to our next guided trip with River Run Outfitters!
Review 12 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromTuscola, texas
Great fishing
PostedSeptember 9, 2019
While in Branson with my wife I was given a free day and went fly fishing with Carolyn. Had a great time and caught an above normal amount for the season. I would recommend anyone to stop in to their operation
Review 13 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromNew Bloomfield, MO
Outstanding day!
PostedSeptember 5, 2019
I have just had a wonderful day on Lake Taneycomo with guide Jim Lund. Jim had me on fish all day. I had a problem with my reflexes (I am 82 years old) but Jim coached me well and we boated some nice fish.
Review 14 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromTulsa, Oklahoma
Great Trip
PostedAugust 29, 2019
Carolyn was a great guide, and I learned a lot and caught fish.
Review 15 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This somewhat describes my experience.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromHorn Lake, MS
Highlight of our trip
PostedAugust 22, 2019
Carolyn has an abundance of knowledge in every area of fly fishing. My husband and I are beginners and she had patience with us and had us catching a few trout even though it wasn’t prime conditions. This was the highlight of our trip to Branson but it will be the reason for the next trip!
Review 16 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was somewhat knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromJacksonville, Illinois
Enjoyable Second Trip
PostedAugust 14, 2019
This was my second float trip with River Run Outfitters. Jim Lund was our guide and was rather knowledgeable about fly fishing. He started me out with a size 16 crackle back with no takes and switched to a midge with a scud dropper under an indicator.
My nephew that wanted to learn to fly fish was instructed while I was using the crackle back. The water was running slow so that made things a little challenging to get the trout to take ; when they did it was enjoyable and both of us had several hook ups.
Jim’s stories and advice were worth the trip.
Review 17 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromBartlesville OK
Gina is the best
PostedAugust 14, 2019
River Run has always been helpful and very accommodating when we book a trip with them. Gina is an excellent instructor and I have confidence I can turn my youthful fishing companion into her hands and i can be assured of having a great trip.
Review 18 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromBranson MO
Great place and great guide!
PostedAugust 12, 2019
My son and I had an awesome time fly fishing through River Run Outfitters! Our guide, Darren Sadler, was amazing! I'm a novice and he was very patient with me! I learned so much that day! We will definitely use them both again! I'm planning on a fly fishing class in the fall with Carolyn! Cannot wait!
Review 19 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromSt. Louis, MO
Great Trip
PostedAugust 7, 2019
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This was my third trip with River Run Outfitters. This time I came with my three brothers, one of which came all the way from Atlanta to fish with River Run Outfitters for a second time. We all had a great time, we all caught nice trout and we have not stopped hearing how my oldest brother, Rich, pictured with one of this catches, landed the most rainbow trout by a wide margin over the rest of us. Thanks to Carolyn and Jim, our guides, for a great trip. This was personally my third time fishing with River Run Outfitters, it will not be the last!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for River Run Outfitters, MO
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Least True
This describes my experience exactly.
Most True
Least Friendly
Staff was very friendly.
Most Friendly
Least Knowledgeable
The staff was very knowledgeable.
Most Knowledgeable
fromLouisville KY
Fantastic Company
PostedJuly 31, 2019
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Float trip with Gina Leitle was the best. She put us on 20+ fish and provided us with the flies that were the hottest to use. This was the second year we were with Gina, and if at all possible, we'll be back for a third.